Skip to main content
  • MacNider Building

    Accolades, Awards and Appointments Archive

    Congratulations to department faculty who received the following accolades, awards and appointments, March 1 – March 31, 2024. Katherine Reeder Hayes, MD, MBA, has been promoted to professor of medicine. Brian Jensen, MD, has been promoted to professor of medicine. Laura Blanchard, PA-C, served on the planning committee for the APP Oncology Summit, a regional CME conference desig … Read more

  • Hospitalists Recognized by Society of Hospital Medicine NC Triangle Chapter

    The Society of Hospital Medicine NC Triangle Chapter held its annual networking and awards night on February 16, 2024. Awardees demonstrate excellence in research, clinical leadership service and more. Hospitalists for the UNC Division of Hospital Medicine were honored with awards, including: Dana Mabry, NP, Excellence in Clinical Leadership for Advanced Practice Provider Award C … Read more

  • UNC Hospitalists Publish Case Study on Hydralazine-Induced Anti-Neutrophil Cytoplasmic Antibody (ANCA) Vasculitis

    The article describes a medical case involving an 82-year-old woman who was taking a medication called hydralazine for heart problems.

  • Faculty and Staff in the News Throughout October

    The clickable links below navigate directly to outside media articles which featured Department of Medicine faculty throughout the month of October.  Evan S. Dellon, MD, MPH, was featured in a New York Times article that depicts a patient’s experience with EoE. Faculty and fellows in the Division of Pulmonary Diseases & Critical Care Medicine attended the NC Thoracic Society … Read more

  • Breaking Barriers in Healthcare: Team Lead by Raff, Moore Named Finalist for Prestigious Healthcare Equity Award

    A multidisciplinary team, lead by Drs. Evan Raff and Carlton Moore in the Division of Hospital Medicine, has been recognized as a top finalist for The Joint Commission and Kaiser Permanente Bernard J. Tyson National Award for Excellence in Pursuit of Healthcare Equity for their work on improving healthcare delivery to patients with limited English proficiency at the medical cente … Read more

  • Featured Advanced Practice Provider: Kristi Brendle

    Kristi Brendle, MSN, FNP-C, is a nurse practitioner with the UNC Advanced Care at Home program. She is originally from Georgia but has lived in North Carolina since 2000. Kristi is  a proud mom to a junior at UNC Charlotte and stepmom to a pilot with United. Outside of work and family she enjoys hiking, kayaking, reading and cooking! 

  • MacNider Building

    Faculty and Residents Honored by UNC SOM Student Government

    The UNC School of Medicine Student Government held the Fall Convocation and Awards Ceremony on August 16. The following faculty and residents from the Department of Medicine were recognized. Christopher Klipstein, MD, professor of medicine and co-director of patient centered care, received the The Hyman L. Battle Distinguished Excellence in Teaching Award in the Clinical Sciences … Read more

  • June- Grants and Funding

    Department of Medicine Grants & Funding: June 1 – June 30, 2023

    Division of Rheumatology, Allergy and Immunology Richard Loeser, MD, received the Rheumatology Research Foundation (RRF) Innovative Research Award to explore small molecule discovery for disease modification in osteoarthritis (OA). Division of Hospital Medicine Amy Dacillo-Curso, ACNP-BC, and Ashmita Chatterjee, MD, were awarded an Institute for Healthcare Quality Improvement gra … Read more

  • MacNider Building

    Faculty, Trainees Recognized for Academy of Educators Accomplishments

    Founded as a part of UNC School of Medicine’s strategic plan, the Academy of Educators (AOE) has been enhancing research and scholarship towards excellence in teaching since 2006. The Mission of the Academy is also to promote and fund curricular innovation, evidence-based curricular change and a scholarly approach to the education mission and provide a forum for education leaders … Read more

  • Department Welcomes Two New Associate Chiefs of Administration

    The Department is honored to welcome two vibrant leaders to the administrative team, Taylor Herndon and Brandon Grant.   Brandon Grant, MPH, joins the Division of Hematology as the new Associate Chief of Administration. Previously serving as the Strategic Support Manager in the Office of the CEO at Penn Medicine, he comes to us with a strong background in healthcare administratio … Read more

  • Erin Finn MD

    Dr. Erin Finn Receives Junior Faculty Award from Academy of Educators

    The UNC School of Medicine Academy of Educators (AOE) has established a number of teaching awards to recognize the importance of excellence in medical teaching, increase the prestige of great educators, and make teaching a more viable part of a faculty member’s academic career path.

  • Drs. Finn, Stephens, Dancel Publish “The State of Internal Medicine Point-of-Care Ultrasound (POCUS) Fellowships in the United States and Canada”

    In this article, Erin Finn, MD, John Stephens, MD, and Ria Dancel, MD, in the Division of Hospital Medicine and Eric Zwemer, MD, in the Department of Pediatrics explore the state of internal medicine point-of-care ultrasound fellowships in the US and Canada.