Skip to main content

Alejandro Fernandez is a business manager with the McAllister Heart Institute. Originally from Honduras, he has lived in the U.S. for nearly 10 years. Aside from working on a great team Alejandro enjoys being a dad, husband and playing pickleball! Interestingly, he nor his son have a middle name.

What’s your role and how long have you been a part of our Department?

I am a business officer for the McAllister Heart Institute, and I have been with the department for 2 years.

Where are you from?

I am originally from Honduras, but have been in the states for almost 10 years (California, Pennsylvania, and North Carolina)

What originally attracted you to work at UNC Department of Medicine?

I loved the idea of working for a department that has such a great purpose and impact in our society.

What is the most interesting project you’ve been a part of so far?

Not necessarily a project but just getting to see what some of our labs are working on, and being able to support them so they can focus on their research.

What do you enjoy most about working here?

I landed on a great team that welcomed me since day 1, and I have enjoyed getting to know them. I also love the campus and attending athletic events.

How has your role evolved over time since you’ve been here?

As the department grows and adds more faculty, I have gotten to work with some of them and their labs.

What is one thing that you wish people knew about your job?

Spreadsheets are not boring.

What are you most proud of, personal or professional?

The little family I got, my wife, my son, and my dog.

What’s one thing on your bucket list?

I want to travel to Europe.

Do you have hobbies outside of work that you enjoy?

Golf and Pickleball.

What piece of advice would you give to your younger self?

Stop stressing over the future and enjoy the journey. Be present where you are.

What’s something about you (a fun fact) that not many people know?

I don’t have a middle name, and I like that, so my son does not have a middle name either.