First Year Fellows

Kunal Jakharia, MD

Medical School: Topiwala National Medical College, B.Y.L. Nair CH Hospital, Mumbai, India
Internal Medicine Residency: Medstar Washington Hospital Center/Georgetown University, Washington, DC
Research Interest: Quality Improvements in ICU outcomes, Infections in the ICU
kunal.jakharia@unchealth.unc.edu

Cedric Munoz, MD

Medical School: Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth
Internal Medicine Residency: McGaw Medical Center of Northwestern University
Research Interest: ARDS, Respiratory virology, pulmonary hypertension
cedric.munoz@unchealth.unc.edu

Hitesh (Heath) Patel, MD

Medical School: Eastern Virginia Medical School
Internal Medicine Residency: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Research Interest: ICU outcomes, end-of-life decision making, acute lung injury, medical education, quality improvement
hitesh.patel2@unchealth.unc.edu

Benjamin Sines, MD

Medical School: University of Iowa
Internal Medicine Residency: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Research Interest:
benjamin.sines@unchealth.unc.edu


Second Year Fellows

Mazen Al-Qadi, MD

Medical School: Jordan University of Science and Technology, Jordan
Internal Medicine Residency: Brown University, Memorial Hospital of Rhode Island
Chief Residency: Brown University, Memorial Hospital of Rhode Island
Critical Care Fellowship: Mayo Clinic, MN
Research Interest: Interventional Pulmonology, Sepsis, ARDS
Mazen.al-qadi@unchealth.unc.edu

Matthew Hunsucker, MD

Undergraduate: North Carolina State University
Medical School: University of North Carolina School of Medicine
Internal Medicine Residency: University of North Carolina Hospitals
Research Interest: Pulmonary hypertension, ICU outcomes
Matthew.hunsucker@unchealth.unc.edu

Amanda Kovacich, MD

Undergraduate: University of Florida
Medical School: Florida State University College of Medicine
Internal Medicine Residency: Johns Hopkins Bayview
Research Interest: ICU outcomes, quality improvement and organization of critical care services
Amanda.Kovacich@unchealth.unc.edu

Adam Schwartz, MD

Undergraduate: University of South Florida Honors College
Medical School: University of South Florida College of Medicine
Internal Medicine Residency: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Research Interests: ICU Outcomes, Quality Improvement, Pulmonary Hypertension, Medical Education
Adam.schwartz@unchealth.unc.edu


Third Year Fellows

William Atchley, MD, PhD

Undergraduate: University of Arkansas
Medical School: University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
Graduate School: University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
Internal Medicine Residency: University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
Research Interests: Drug discovery and development
william.atchley@unchealth.unc.edu

Kenton Dover, MD

Undergraduate: East Carolina University
Medical School: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Residency: Internal Medicine/Pediatrics, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Research Interests: ICU Outcomes, ARDS, Respiratory virology in immunocompromised populations
kenton.dover@unchealth.unc.edu

Adriana Olariu, MD

Undergraduate: National College Elena Ghiba-Birta, Romania
Medical School: University of Medicine and Pharmacy “I. Hatieganu”, Romania
Residency: Weiss Memorial Hospital/UIC Teaching Affiliate
Research Interest: Clinical research in sepsis, ICU outcomes, ARDS
adriana.olariu@unchealth.unc.edu

Elizabeth Sonntag, MD

Undergraduate: Michigan State University
Medical School: Michigan State University College of Human Medicine
Residency: Virginia Commonwealth University
Fellowship: MacLean Center for Clinical Medical Ethics, University of Chicago
Research Interests: Medical Ethics, End of Life Decisions, Advanced Life-Sustaining Therapies
elizabeth.sonntag@unchealth.unc.edu


Fourth Year Fellow

Robert (Bobby) Burkes, MD

Undergraduate: Allegheny College
Medical School: University of Toledo
Residency: University of Louisville
Research Interests: COPD, Quality Improvement in Chronic Lung Disease Care, Emergency Toxicology
robert.burkes@unchealth.unc.edu