Skip to main content

Recognizes a career of oncology-related voluntarism and patient care.

Joel Tepper

Joel E. Tepper, MD, the Hector MacLean Distinguished Professor of Cancer Research in the Department of Radiation Oncology was one of twenty recipients of the American Society of Clinical Oncology’s (ASCO) 2011 Statesman Award.

The award, presented on June 6, 2011 at ASCO’s annual meeting in Chicago, IL, recognizes the extraordinary dedication of ASCO members for their voluntary efforts that benefit the Society, the specialty of oncology, and the patients served by the profession. Each year the award is given to volunteers who have given 20 or more cumulative years of service to the Society.

Dr. Tepper shared the award with another senior member of the Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center, Richard M. Goldberg, MD, Distinguished Professor and Chief of the UNC Division of Hematology/Oncology and Physician-in-Chief of the NC Cancer Hospital.