Skip to main content

The four In-Service Awards given each year by the Department of Surgery recognize interns’ specific achievements on the American Board of Surgery In-Training Examination (ABSITE). The four awards are distributed based on the following criteria:
1. Person who scored above the 90th percentile range on the exam.
2. The person with the highest score for a Junior Level Resident.
3. The person with the highest score for a Senior level resident.
4. The person with the highest percentage increase from the last exam.

The ABSITE gauges the surgical residents’ knowledge in clinical and basic sciences. The test is intended to serve as an objective measure in order to determine competency for progression in the program. To learn more about the ABSITE, please visit

Prior recipients of the award include:

Top Score
Junior Level
Top Score
Senior Level
Highest Increase Scored Above 90%
2021 Anoosh Bahraini Joshua Herb Emilie Barnes Julia Button
Chase Cox
Conner Haase
Xavier Baldwin
Manual Sanchez-Casalongue
2019 Anastasiya Shchatsko Stephen Mahoney Mary Kate Bryan Kevin Chen
Anastasiya Shchatsko
Marcos Lopez
Joshua Herb
Stephen Mahoney
2018 Josh Herb Stephen Mahoney Bailey Sanders Tali Yohann
Josh Herb
Lauren Moskal
Stephen Mahoney
Chelsea Hutchinson
2017 Stephen Mahoney Sara Scarlet Sr:Tyler Ellis

Jr: Emily Newton

Lauren Moskal
Josh Herb
Stephen Mahoney
Sara Scarlet
2016 Stephen Mahoney Sara Scarlet Sr: Rebecca Brown
Jr: Judyta Lipinska
Stephen Mahoney
2015 Rafi Fredman Trista Reid Sr: Trista Reid
Jr: Jonathan Black
Chelsea Becker
Sara Kim
Rafi Fredman


Junior Level Senior Level Highest increase
2014 Abraham Korn, MD* Michael Phillips, MD Javeria Qureshi, MD
2013 Anna Johnson, MD Courtney Sommer, MD* Jason Glotzbach, MD*
2012 Kristen Sell, MD* Colin Bird, MD Colin Bird, MD
2011 Trista Reid, MD Brian Bednarski, MD* Michael Phillips, MD
2010 Sally Stander, MD* Leora Tesche, MD Jeff Dehmer, MD
2009 Sally Stander, MD Leora Tesche, MD* Heather Pennell, MD
2008 Courtney Sommer, MD Aaron Garrison, MD* Faera Byerly, MD
2007 Leora Tesche, MD Aaron Garrison, MD Brian Bednarski, MD
2006 Aaron Garrison, MD* Ryan Heider, MD* Stephanie Beidler, MD
2005 Aaron Garrison, MD* Ryan Heider, MD*

Heather Neuman, MD*

Tim Sadiq, MD*

Erika Rager, MD
2004 Nancy Moss, MD

Tach Bhati, MD

Karen Stitzenberg, MD

* Scored above the 90th percentile