Skip to main content

Since 2000, the Department of Surgery has recognized a fourth-year medical student who has demonstrated outstanding academic and clinical achievement, and who possesses personal characteristics that promise a future leadership role in surgery. Originally named the Hugh Williamson Award, it was renamed in 2006 to honor George F. Sheldon, MD, who chaired the UNC Department of Surgery from 1984 to 2001.

Prior recipients are:

2021 Jihane Jadi
2020 Erin Isenberg
2019 Alex Fletcher
2018 Audra Reiter
2017 Billy Oslund
2016 Julia Nugent
2015 Alison Halpern
2014 Sara Myers
2013 Hope Nicole Blythe-Moore
2012 Mamie Groomes
Sean McNally
2011 Lauren Allen
2010 Trista Day Snyder Reid
2009 Mohammed Zayed
2008 Staci Beamer
2007 Scott Moore
2006 Jeff Dehmer
2005 Jennifer Nelson
2004 Ian Buchanan
2003 Lindsee McPhail
2002 Eric Volckmann
2001 Michael Houston