Skip to main content
Dr. Melina Kibbe UNC Surgery
Melina Kibbe, MD

Melina R. Kibbe, MD, is Professor of Surgery with tenure, and the Colin G. Thomas, Jr., MD Distinguished Professor and Chair of the Department of Surgery at the University of North Carolina (UNC). She also is an Adjunct Professor in the Department of Biomedical Engineering. She began her tenure at UNC on July 1, 2016. Prior to UNC, Dr. Kibbe was faculty at Northwestern University for 13 years where she also served as the Vice Chair of Research in the Department of Surgery and as Deputy Director of the Simpson Querrey Institute for BioNanotechnology. Clinically, Dr. Kibbe has significant experience with both open and endovascular surgery, including the treatment of carotid stenosis, peripheral vascular disease, and abdominal aortic aneurysms. Dr. Kibbe’s research interests focus on nitric oxide vascular biology and developing novel and innovative nitric oxide-based therapies for patients with vascular disease.

For her research, she has received funds from the National Institutes of Health, American Heart Association, Department of Veterans Affairs, American Medical Association, and various society, foundation, and intramural sources. She holds 10 patents or provisional patents. Her research was recognized by President Obama with the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers in 2009.

Her bibliography includes over 200 peer-reviewed manuscripts, review articles, and book chapters, with an emphasis on nitric oxide vascular biology and nitric oxide-based therapies. She is board certified in general and vascular surgery and is RVT and RPVI certified by ARDMS. Dr. Kibbe is the Editor-in-Chief for JAMA Surgery. She is past-president of the Association for Academic Surgery, the Midwestern Vascular Surgical Society, and the Association of VA Surgeons. She is also an active member in the American College of Surgeons, the American Surgical Association, the Society for Vascular Surgery, and the American Heart Association, among others. Most recently, she was elected into the American Society for Clinical Investigation and the National Academy of Medicine.