Skip to main content

Dr. Joanne Jordan discusses Muscles, Joints, Aches and Related Diseases

November 23, 2014

Dr. Cristy Page and Dr. Adam Goldstein with the UNC Family Medicine’s Weekly Health Radio Show YOUR HEALTH®, have a conversation with Dr. Joanne Jordan. Tune in via podcast at: Listen live on: WCHL 97.9 FM, Saturday at 9 AM, Sunday at 9 AM & 5 PM and Monday at 6 & 10 PM … Continued

“Camine Con Gusto” to be evaluated by Dr. Leigh Callahan

November 21, 2014

Dr. Leigh Callahan has received a one-year grant from the Arthritis Foundation to evaluate “Camine Con Gusto,” the Hispanic version of Walk With Ease program, among 200 Hispanic adults with self-reported arthritis or joint pain.

Current Awards, Honors and Appointments of 2014

November 10, 2014

Faculty: Joanne M. Jordan, MD, MPH Inductee, American Clinical and Climatological Association, the oldest medical society in America founded in 1884 ACR Board of Directors Leigh F. Callahan, PhD ACR/ARHP Lifetime Achievement Award Appointed Director of OAAA COAMI Steering Committee ACR Finance Committee Faculty Member, US Bone and Joint Initiative Young Investigators Program Kelli Allen, … Continued

Dr. Jordan inducted into The American Clinical and Climatological Association

November 4, 2014

Joanne M. Jordan, MD MPH, Chief of the Division of Rheumatology, Allergy and Immunology and Director of the Thurston Arthritis Research Center was inducted into The American Clinical and Climatological Association in October. Marc Hochberg, MD MPH, Marschall Runge, MD PhD and John Winfield, MD sponsored Dr. Jordan’s membership into the oldest medical society in the country.

UNC TARC’s Dr. Leigh Callahan receives Lifetime Achievement Award

October 9, 2014

Dr. Leigh F. Callahan, Mary Link Briggs Distinguished Professor of Medicine at UNC’s Thurston Arthritis Research Center will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award at the American College of Rheumatology (ACR) / Association of Rheumatology Health Professionals (ARHP) Annual Scientific Meeting in Boston, MA on November 15, 2014. This award is the highest honor that the ACR/ARHP bestows.

Nancy Wade and Linda Miles retire

June 13, 2014

Nancy Wade and Linda Miles will be dearly missed at JoCo and will always be a part of the UNC TARC and JoCo family! We extend our warmest wishes to Nancy and Linda as they start this new chapter in their lives. Janice Woodard, JoCo Project Manager for over 20 years, shares a few thoughts … Continued

UNC Thurston Arthritis Research Center to lead Osteoarthritis Action Alliance

May 29, 2014

Leigh F. Callahan, PhD, will serve as Director for the OAAA The UNC Thurston Arthritis Research Center has been selected as the new home for the Osteoarthritis Action Alliance (OAAA), the Arthritis Foundation announced on May 28. The OAAA is a national coalition of concerned organizations mobilized by the Arthritis Foundation and the Centers for … Continued