Over 40 awards, honors, and appointments were presented to faculty and staff in 2014


Joanne M. Jordan, MD, MPH

  • Inductee, American Clinical and Climatological Association, the oldest medical society in America founded in 1884
  • ACR Board of Directors

Leigh F. Callahan, PhD

  • ACR/ARHP Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Appointed Director of OAAA
  • COAMI Steering Committee
  • ACR Finance Committee
  • Faculty Member, US Bone and Joint Initiative Young Investigators Program

Kelli Allen, PhD

  • Member, Addressing Disparities Review Panel for the Patient Centered Outcomes Research Institute
  • Member, Career Development Award Review Panel for Department of Veterans Affairs, Health Services Research and Developments Service
  • Member, American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons Performance Measures Work Group: Osteoarthritis: Function Assessment
  • COAMI Steering Committee

Yvonne Golightly, PT, MS, PhD

  • Affiliate faculty member, UNC Human Movement Science Curriculum ACR Quality of Care committee
  • ACR Abstract Oversight Selection Subcommittee
  • 2014 UNC Junior Faculty Development Award

Maya R. Jerath, MD, PhD

  • ACCLAIM Scholar

Beth L. Jonas, MD

  • ACR Committee on Training and Workforce
  • FDA Arthritis Advisory Committee

Edwin H. Kim, MD, MS

  • Appointed Associate Program Director for the Allergy and Immunology Fellowship
  • Accepted into Academy of Educators
  • Accepted into the UNC Teaching Scholars program
  • Selected as an instructor in the Patient Centered Care course, part of the new UNC medical school curriculum Translational Education at Carolina


Richard F. Loeser, Jr., MD

  • Appointed Herman and Louise Smith Distinguished Professor
  • OARSI Basic Science Research Award
  • Wake Forest School of Medicine Team Science Award
  • Elected Chair ACR Annual Meeting Planning Committee

Amanda E. Nelson, MD, MSCR, RhMSUS

  • Certified in Musculoskeletal Ultrasound
  • 2014 UNC Junior Faculty Development Award

Jennifer L. Rogers, MD

  • Appointed Co-Director of UNC Rheumatology Lupus Clinic

Robert Roubey, MD

  • Member, APS ACTION Executive Committee and Steering Committee
  • Speaker, ACR Annual Meeting Curbside Consults - Ask The Experts

Saira Z. Sheikh, MD

  • Appointed Co-Director of UNC Rheumatology Lupus Clinic

Maureen Su, MD, AM

  • Jefferson Pilot Award

Teresa Tarrant, MD

  • Accepted into ACCLAIM program
  • Rheumatology Research Foundation Targeted Research Task Force
  • Rheumatology Research Foundation Scientific Advisory Council

William Yount, MD

  • University of Wisconsin Medical Alumni Citation Award

Research Teams:

Mary Altpeter - Co-investigator, Callahan and Rini Teams

  • NC Division of Aging and Adult Services Ewald W. Busse Award for impact on enhancing the health status of older North Carolinians

Diane Bresch, BSN, RN - Coordinator, Clinical Trials Team

  • Clinical Research Professional Certification

Liu Lab:

Monica Jin, PhD - Postdoctoral Fellow, Liu Lab

  • ATVB Travel Award for Young Investigators

Su Lab:

Denise Allard Trout - Su Lab

  • Peter J. Dyck Award for autoimmune peripheral neuropathy presentation
  • Department of Pediatrics' Evening of Scholarship Basic Science Research Award

Lee Kyung Hong - Su Lab

  • Lineberger Scientific Retreat Basic Science poster award

Tarrant Lab:

Matthew Billard, PhD - Postdoctoral Researcher, Tarrant Lab

  • Received Public Policy Fellowship from American Association of Immunologists

Jaime Brozowski, MS - Graduate Research Assistant, Tarrant Lab

  • Accepted into the HHMI Med-into-Grad Translational Science program


Aaron Kobernick, MD – 1st year Allergy/Immunology Fellow

  • Navajo Area Director's Award for Outstanding Group Performance
  • Presentation Selection, The Southeastern Allergy Society


Upcoming Events
Lara Longobardi, PhD hosts Musculoskeletal Research Seminar Mar 31, 2015 04:00 PM - 05:00 PM — Dickson Conference Room, Thurston Arthritis Research Center, 3200 Thurston Building
Physical Activity: Measurement to Maintenance Apr 01, 2015 10:30 AM - 11:30 AM — Dickson Conference Room (Room 3200) Thurston Building Thurston Arthritis Research Center
Journal Club Apr 08, 2015 08:30 AM - 09:30 AM
Evan S. Dellon, MD, MPH hosts Grand Rounds Apr 10, 2015 08:30 AM - 10:00 AM — Dickson Conference Room, Thurston Arthritis Research Center, 3200 Thurston Building
David Gray, MD hosts Grand Rounds Apr 17, 2015 08:30 AM - 10:00 AM — Dickson Conference Room, Thurston Arthritis Research Center, 3200 Thurston Building
Upcoming events…
« March 2015 »