Skip to main content

Alumnus of the Month: Garrett Ainslie (2014 CiTEM PhD)

July 13, 2022

  Could you describe your career trajectory?   My first exposure to my current field of work came during my bachelor’s program, where I completed a 6 month cooperative education fellowship at Merck in the Drug Metabolism and Pharmacokinetics (DMPK) group; a department I had not previously even known existed. My project exposed me to … Read more

NC Award Recipients (2016)

June 23, 2022

  Two members of the Curriculum in Toxicology receive the North Carolina Award, the highest civilian honor given by the state of North Carolina. Dr. Linda Birnbaum, Director of the National Institute for Environmental Health Sciences, and Dr. Aziz Sancar, Sarah Graham Kenan Professor of Biochemistry and Biophysics at UNC-CH and the recipient of the … Read more

CiTEM Trainees Honored

June 23, 2022

In addition to publishing over 20 first-author papers, our CiTEM trainees have received 20 poster and travel Awards, are the winners of NC Impact Awards in 2019 and 2020 (Bevin Blake and Yael-Natalie Escobar), winners of the NIEHS 3-minute thesis competition (Bevin Blake), were inducted into the UNC Frank Porter Graham Honor Society (Elise Hickman), … Read more

Alexia Perryman Awarded ToxScholar Grant to Serve as Invited Speaker at California State University-East Bay

April 26, 2022

Congratulations to Alexia Perryman for receiving the Society of Toxicology ToxScholar Outreach Grant to support her visit to California State University-East Bay (CSU-EB), where she served as an Invited Speaker for the “Introduction to Toxicology” undergraduate course. Alexia was hosted by the instructor, UNC CiTEM alumnus Brett Winters, and his students. Alexia presented on inhalation … Read more

Graduate Student Micah Willis awarded 2021 AAI Minority Scientist Award

April 13, 2021

Micah Willis Congratulations to Micah Willis for receiving the AAI Minority Scientist award for his work on “Microvesicle-associated immunomodulators are critical regulators of immune dysfunction following burn injury”. Burn injury can be separated into two very distinct phases; an hyper-inflammative early-acute phase (0-72 hours post injury), followed by an immunosuppressive sub-acute phase. Micah’s work will examine … Read more

Faculty Member Phillip Clapp is Featured in Press Briefing on Mask Fitting

February 22, 2021

Phil Clapp Collaborative research between CEMALB and EPA investigators shows that double masking can provide additional protection for the wearer. However, improving fit with the outer mask is key. Read More here:  

Recent Graduate Yael-Natalie Escobar Awarded APS Fellowship

February 3, 2021

Yael-Natalie Escobar It is becoming increasingly apparent that science is a major component of many issues, topics, and decisions with which Congress must grapple. The American Physiological Society (APS) sponsors an early career advocacy fellowship to engage researchers in “advocacy activities and provide them with skills to become long-term advocates for scientific research.” Yael-Natalie Escobar, … Read more

Longtime Faculty Dr. David Holbrook passes away

May 28, 2020

Dr. David Holbrook It is with great sadness that I report the passing of Dr. David Holbrook. He died peacefully on May 3rd, 2020 at the age of 87. He was a critical component in the development of our training program in 1979 and stayed involved until 2019, dedicating 40 years of his life to … Read more

Alumnus of the Month: Lawrence “Lars” Trost, PhD

April 15, 2019

  April 2019 Biography: Dr. Lawrence “Lars” Trost is a Preclinical Development Consultant at the company he founded, Belleropharm, LLC.  His core expertise is assisting clients with the design and execution of toxicology studies intended to support the safety of products in development for Investigational New Drug (IND) and New Drug Application (NDA) submissions.  Dr. … Read more