Skip to main content

Make a Gift

UNC Department of Anesthesiology proudly announces Department Chair and Professor of Anesthesiology David Zvara, MD, FASA, FAHA, has been named Chief Medical Officer of UNC Hospitals. Dr. Zvara takes on this system-level position effective Monday, October 30th, 2023, as outgoing UNC Hospitals Chief Medical Officer Dr. Tom Ivester shifts to a new UNC Hospitals leadership role as Chief Quality Officer. UNC Professor of Anesthesiology Dr. Anthony Passannante will serve as Interim Chair, and a nationwide search for the next Chair of UNC Department of Anesthesiology continues this fall.

In note to UNC Anesthesiology members, Dr. Zvara stated: “I am thrilled with this appointment, as my service to this place that I cherish may continue in a new capacity. My service as Chair at UNC is the highlight of my professional career.  What makes this place special, as so many of you have shared with me, is the opportunity to meet, know, and work with truly outstanding people.  As the CMO, I hope to represent you in our professional affairs with all I have.”

“Dr. Zvara has been an invaluable part of our team for many years,” said UNC School of Medicine Executive Dean Cristy Page, MD, MPH. “We will miss David’s leadership as chair, but we are thrilled to have him serve our system in this new capacity.”