Skip to main content

Make a Gift

UNC Anesthesiology was thrilled to have multiple UNC School of Medicine Academy of Educators (AoE) members receive honors at the Academy’s annual Evening of Scholarship, held this year on Thursday, May 16th. Founded in 2006, the AoE is dedicated to enhancing research and scholarship towards excellence in teaching. The Academy supports the career paths of excellent teachers and promotes evidence-based curricular innovation and change and a scholarly approach to the SOM’s education mission. Among those recognized, five UNC Anesthesiology faculty members and one resident were honored at the 2024 Evening of Scholarship:

  • Dr. Fei Chen – Scholarship Award
  • Dr. David Mayer – Senior Faculty Award
  • Drs. Susie Martinelli, Fei Chen & Rob Isaak – Best Faculty Poster
  • Dr. Tyler Brookshire – TARHEEL program (Residents as Teachers) graduate and inductee
  • Dr. Amy Goetzinger – FLAGship program (Faculty and Fellows Leadership and Growth Program) graduate
  • Dr. Sam Blacker – Poster Presentation

UNC Anesthesiology Chair Tony Passannante, MD, noted: “The AOE Evening of Scholarship was an amazing night for Anesthesiology. Multiple Department members were honored for their accomplishments at an event that celebrates highly regarded educators within the UNC School of Medicine. Faculty and resident AOE members who were recognized for their teaching excellence at this event have demonstrated an exceptional commitment to our learners. This recognition exemplifies the quality of the academic work done by UNC Anesthesiology and the quality of the individuals that make up the Department.”