Skip to main content

Wednesday, November 2, 2022

Every year, an outstanding School of Medicine faculty member is selected to present the lecture.

The 2022 Norma Berryhill Distinguished Lecturer is

Nancy Raab-Traub, PhD

With gratitude and recognition of her invaluable contributions to our institution, The University of North Carolina School of Medicine welcomes Dr. Nancy Raab-Traub as this year’s Norma Berryhill distinguished lecturer. Dr. Raab-Traub is known internationally as a virologist, microbiologist, and dedicated professor. Having received a Sarah Graham Kennan Distinguished Professorship from the School of Medicine, Dr. Raab-Traub continues, after 40 years of teaching, to serve as an adjunct professor, mentoring and advocating for promotions in the field, especially for women and underrepresented minorities. For over 20 years, she has led the Virology Program in the Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center and has continued to garner grant funding for cutting-edge cancer research.

Through her adept ability to select critical issues to investigate in research, Dr. Raab-Traub is a leading expert on the molecular pathogens of the Epstein-Barr virus and is known worldwide for her contributions as a cancer virologist. She has served on boards and committees related to cancer research throughout her career, including her current membership with the National Cancer Advisory (NCAB) after an appointment from President Obama in 2016. In addition, as an expert in the field, she has generously given her time to speaking engagements and publications, reaching audiences on an international scale. In recognition of her influential contributions, Dr. Raab-Traub is the recipient of several awards, including her selection as a Damon Runyon postdoctoral fellow, a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and a Fellow of the American Academy of Microbiology.

Her exceptional work in research, scholarship, leadership, and education has contributed to the achievement and caliber of the School of Medicine and UNC-Chapel Hill. The UNC School of Medicine is honored to invite Dr. Raab-Traub as this year’s Norma Berryhill Distinguished Lecturer.



The Norma Berryhill Distinguished Lecture began in 1985. Established to honor the medical school’s “most able scientists and scholars,” the lectureship is named after the late Norma Berryhill, whose late husband, Dr. Walter Reece Berryhill, was dean of the school from 1941 to 1964. Along with her husband, she is considered the co-founder of UNC’s four-year School of Medicine. While honoring an eminent member of the School of Medicine faculty, the Norma Berryhill Distinguished Lecture series serves as an occasion to welcome new faculty members in an academic convocation and to further the sense of community created and nurtured by Mrs. Berryhill.


The Norma Berryhill Distinguished Lecture is our annual convocation. It is a time when we reflect upon our School’s splendid heritage of collegiality and excellence, to which Norma Berryhill contributed so much. It is also the occasion on which we welcome our newest faculty members.

The Dean and Advisory Committee of the School of Medicine established the Norma Berryhill Lectureship in September 1984. The Lectureship has two essential components:

  1. a Lecture to be given annually by a member of the faculty of the Medical School; and
  2. a convocation of the Medical School to be held at the time of the Lecture and at which new faculty members will be recognized.

The aims of the Lectureship are twofold. First, the selection of the Norma Berryhill Lecturer is meant to honor a member of the faculty whose accomplishments have added distinction to the Medical School.

Second, the convocation is intended to further a sense of community within the Medical School. Because Mrs. Berryhill was a major factor in developing this sense, the Lectureship was named in her honor.

Criteria for Selection

The Lecturer shall be an actively employed member of the faculty of the School of Medicine of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill at the time of selection. Fully retired faculty and recently appointed faculty who have not arrived in Chapel Hill are not eligible.

  1. Nominations for the Lecturer shall come from individual faculty members and alumni. Departmental, divisional, or other corporate nominations will not be accepted.
  2. Nominees should have made distinguished contributions to the stature of the School of Medicine of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
  3. The committee requests that you send the name(s) of your nominee(s) with your reasons for the nomination stated briefly, a letter of nomination, and an updated curriculum vitae.

Previous lecturers are:

2021 Craig A. Fletcher, DVM, PHD (Associate Vice Chancellor for Research, Director of the Division of Comparative Medicine, and Vice Chair and Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine at the UNC School of Medicine)
2020 Ralph S. Baric, PhD (William R. Kenan, Jr Distinguished Professor of Epidemiology and Professor of Microbiology and Immunology)
2019 William L. Roper, MD, MPH (Former Dean of the School of Medicine, Interim UNC System President)
2018 Giselle Corbie-Smith, MD, MSc (Social Medicine, Director of Center for Health Equity Research)
2017 Nancy Chescheir, MD (OB/GYN)
2016 Aziz Sancar, MD, PhD (2015 Nobel Laureate, Biochemistry and Biophysics)
2015 J. Charles Jennette, MD (Former Chair, Pathology and Laboratory Medicine)
2014 Myron Cohen, MD (Associate Vice Chancellor for Global Health)
2013 Judith Tintinalli, MD, MS, FACEP (Emergency Medicine)
2012 Eugene Orringer, MD (Medicine)
2011 Ronald Falk, MD (Medicine)
2010 Jenny P. Ting, PhD (Microbiology and Immunology)
2009 Jeffrey L. Houpt, MD (Dean Emeritus/Psychiatry)
2008 Richard C. Boucher, Jr., MD (Medicine)
2007 H. Shelton Earp, III, MD (Medicine)
2006 Robert C. Cefalo, MD, PhD (Obstetrics & Gynecology)
2005 Joel E. Tepper, MD (Radiation Oncology)
2004 Philip A. Bromberg, MD (Medicine)
2003 Harold R. Roberts, MD (Medicine & Pathology & Laboratory Medicine)
2002 Oliver Smithies, MA, DPhil (Pathology & Laboratory Medicine)
2001 Edward A. Norfleet, MD (Anesthesiology)
2000 George F. Sheldon, MD (Surgery)
1999 P. Frederick Sparling, MD (Medicine)
1998 Joe W. Grisham, MD (Pathology)
1997 Joseph S. Pagano, MD (Medicine)
1996 Frank C. Wilson, MD (Surgery)
1995 Christopher C. Fordham III, MD (Medicine)
1994 Judson J. Van Wyk, MD (Pediatrics)
1993 Stuart Bondurant, MD (Medicine)
1992 George Johnson, Jr., MD (Surgery)
1991 William B. Blythe, MD (Medicine)
1990 Carl W. Gottschalk, MD (Medicine)
1989 Colin G. Thomas, Jr., MD (Surgery)
1988 Mary Ellen Jones, PhD (Biochemistry)
1987 Floyd W. Denny, MD (Pediatrics)
1986 G. Philip Manire, PhD (Microbiology)
1985 John B. Graham, MD (Pathology)