Skip to main content

Carolina Care Excellence Awards

Congratulations to our 15 faculty members honored with this award in 2020.

Founding class of FIRST Residents graduates program

FIRST logo

The members of the inaugural class of the FIRST (Fully Integrated Readiness for Service Training) Program, Thane Campbell, MD, and Kyle Melvin, MD, will graduate this June.

Family Medicine faculty pilot “Prevent COVID-U” study at UNC

prevent covid logo

Sylvia Becker-Dreps, MD, MPH and Nadja Vielot, PhD are principal investigators for an exciting and cutting-edge research study occurring at campuses across the country to help end the COVID-19 pandemic.

Margaret Helton, MD – Class of 1991

Margaret Helton profile shot

Margaret Helton, MD, has been named Chair of the UNC School of Medicine’s Department of Family Medicine. This new position marks a continuation of the leadership that Helton has provided to the Department since being named Interim Chair in the Spring of 2019. Under her leadership the Department has made significant advances, including the launching … Continued