Skip to main content

The Division of Occupational Science and Occupational Therapy assistant professor Antoine Bailliard is one of ten Thorp Faculty Engaged Scholars for 2016; Bailliard is the only recipient from the UNC School of Medicine.

The Carolina Center for Public Service has named Department of Allied Health Sciences (DAHS) assistant professor Antoine Bailliard as one of ten Thorp Faculty Engaged Scholars for 2016. He is the only recipient in the UNC School of Medicine.

As part of the sixth class of the Thorp scholars, Bailliard will participate in a two-year program to develop projects in partnership with community organizations.

In a collaborative partnership with Assertive Community Treatment (ACT) teams and their clients, Bailliard will develop a social skills training protocol to be delivered by ACT teams in the community through their daily interactions with clients. Through the combined expertise of ACT teams, their consumers and his clinical training and experience, Bailliard hopes to yield an intervention that addresses real-world needs in a manner that is sustainable, feasible and acceptable for all stakeholders.

“It’s an honor to have the opportunity to collaborate with such amazing scholars from a variety of disciplines,” Bailliard said.

Bailliard’s research at the UNC School of Medicine focuses on how changes in participation in activities of daily living affect the mental health of marginalized populations. Using participatory research methods with migrant groups, he has studied the relationship between sensory experiences and mental health and the relationship between participation in occupation and social/occupational justice. Bailliard is also an occupational therapist at UNC Hospitals’ WakeBrook inpatient psychiatric facility.

The Carolina Center for Public Service established the engaged scholars endowment in honor of former UNC-Chapel Hill Chancellor Holden Thorp. Every other year, eight to 10 faculty members are selected to participate in the program aimed at understanding and pursuing community engagement through scholarly endeavors. Since the program began in 2007, 53 faculty members have been selected from 11 schools and 21 departments to participate in the program.

-Mackenzie Hudson, public relations and communications intern for the Department of Allied Health Sciences