Skip to main content

The Department of Allied Health Sciences (DAHS) is pleased to announce the 2021 recipients of the DAHS faculty awards: The DAHS Leadership Award, The DAHS Innovation and Achievement Award, and The Lee McLean Award for Excellence in Faculty Mentoring. Each of these awards was created to recognize faculty excellent within the department and are awarded on a biannual basis. This year’s awardees are:

  • The DAHS Leadership Award:
    Joy Renner, Radiologic Science
  • The DAHS Innovation and Achievement Award:
    Karen Erickson, Center for Literacy and Disability Studies
  • The DAHS Lee McLean Award for Excellence in Faculty Mentoring:
    Michael Gross, Physical Therapy

A seven-member ad hoc departmental committee, comprised of faculty across the department, previous awardees, and alumni, selected the awardees from a strong group of nominees this year. In accordance with the guidance for the formation of the ad hoc Awards Committee, the members included: John Gross (Committee Chair and Associate Chair for Research), Janelle Bludorn (Physician Assistant Studies), Dr. Dara Chan (Clinical Rehabilitation and Mental Health Counseling), Dr. Lara Costa (Research Advisory Committee), Raheleh Tschoepe (Occupational Therapy), Dr. Jenny Womack (Occupational Therapy), and Dr. Vicky LeGrys (Clinical Laboratory Sciences).

Dr. Stephen Hooper, Associate Dean of Medicine and Chair of the Department, shared, “We are grateful for the efforts of the committee in sorting through some difficult decisions to determine the awardees from the superb group of nominees, and for the time they contributed to this important departmental endeavor. I congratulate each of our outstanding awardees on this esteemed accomplishment.” More information on forthcoming public recognition ceremonies will be announced in the near future.