Skip to main content
  • Buse, Smith Recognized in Global Highly Cited Researchers 2023 List

    John Buse, MD, PhD, and Sidney Smith Jr., MD, along with 18 UNC School of Medicine and 21 other UNC-Chapel Hill researchers have been named in Clarivate’s 2023 list of Highly Cited Researchers™. These scientific pioneers from around the world are drawn from the publications that rank in the top 1% by citations for field and publication year in the Web of Science™ citation index. … Read more

  • Isaacs Named Master of the American College of Gastroenterology

    Kim Isaacs, MD, PhD, was designated as a “Master of the American College of Gastroenterology” (MACG), a prestigious recognition within the field of gastroenterology. She received the honor at this year’s American College of Gastroenterology (ACG) meeting in Vancouver Canada. The title of “Master” is an honorary designation granted by the ACG to individuals who have demonstrated e … Read more

  • Ethan Basch, MD

    Basch Marks 10th year Associate Editor for JAMA

    Ethan Basch, MD, MSc, is celebrating a remarkable milestone, marking his 10th year as an Associate Editor for the Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA). Throughout the past decade, Dr. Basch has played a pivotal role as an oncology editor for JAMA, contributing significantly to the field of medical research. His dedicated service is exemplified by the publication of … Read more

  • Moon wins Shark Tank Competition at The Liver Meeting 2023

    Andrew Moon, MD, MPH, assistant professor of medicine in the Division of Gastroenterology and Hepatology, won the the American Association for the Study of Liver Disease (AASLD) Liver Cancer SIG Shark Tank Competition. At The Liver Meeting 2023 he presented a proposal for remote monitoring of decompensation symptoms (ePROs).

  • MacNider Building

    Accolades, Awards and Appointments Archive

    Congratulations to department faculty who received the following accolades, awards and appointments, October 1 – October 31, 2023. John Harrison, travel manager for the Division of Infectious Diseases, was selected for a 2023 Dean’s Performance Award. Joshua Niznik, PharmD, PhD, has been appointed by Innovation in Aging as Associate Editor for Pharmaceutical Outcomes and Policy. … Read more

  • Jonah Pierce Receives 2023 Dr. Patrick Kenny Certified Nurse of the Year Award

    Jonah Pierce, RN, received the 2023 Dr. Patrick Kenny Certified Nurse of the Year Award from the Association of Nurses in AIDS Care (ANAC). This award is given to the certified nurse who exemplifies excellence in HIV/AIDS Nursing and who advances the mission of the HIV/AIDS Nursing Certification Board. Pierce, the UNC ID Clinic’s HIV Patient Care Coordinator, has been a fierce pa … Read more

  • Breaking Barriers in Healthcare: Team Lead by Raff, Moore Named Finalist for Prestigious Healthcare Equity Award

    A multidisciplinary team, lead by Drs. Evan Raff and Carlton Moore in the Division of Hospital Medicine, has been recognized as a top finalist for The Joint Commission and Kaiser Permanente Bernard J. Tyson National Award for Excellence in Pursuit of Healthcare Equity for their work on improving healthcare delivery to patients with limited English proficiency at the medical cente … Read more

  • Weber honored with Edward Kidder Graham Faculty Service Award

    David J. Weber’s, MD, MPH, many titles reflect his many strengths: tremendous expertise in medicine, public health and infectious diseases; devotion to service rendered with the intention of doing the greatest good for the greatest number of people; and managing multiple responsibilities with a steadfast commitment and apparent joy. It is fitting to recognize Weber’s service as a … Read more

  • MacNider Building

    Department APPs honored during first annual APP Recognition Awards Ceremony

    At the first annual APP Recognition Awards Ceremony, award nominees and recipients, as well as all APPs at UNC, were recognized for their service to our patients, learners, colleagues and UNC. The following advanced practice providers from the Department received 2023 APP Excellence Awards. Angela Spruill, ANP-BC Excellence in Clinical Practice Tatjana Grgic, PharmD, BCOP, CPP Ex … Read more

  • Dr. Archin Receives Diversity in Science and Excellence Award

    Nancie M. Archin, PhD, assistant professor of medicine in the division of infectious diseases at the UNC School of Medicine, was recently awarded the International Society for Antiviral Research Diversity in Science and Excellence award. Nancie M. Archin, PhD, assistant professor of medicine in the division of infectious diseases at the UNC School of Medicine, recently received t … Read more

  • Dr. Commins Named William J. Yount Distinguished Professor of Medicine

    Scott Commins, MD, PhD an allergist internationally known for his work with Alpha-gal syndrome, has been named the newly established William J. Yount, MD Distinguished Professor of Medicine. Faculty who contribute exemplary knowledge to advancing science or human health are honored with a distinguished professorship. “It gives me such pleasure to honor both Dr. Yount, who was a f … Read more

  • Dr. Adrian Austin Selected as 2023 Butler-Williams Scholar

    The National Institute on Aging (NIA) has selected Dr. Adrian Austin to join the 2023 Butler-Williams Scholars Program. Presented by the NIA Office of Special Populations, the program offers opportunities for junior faculty and researchers to gain additional experience in aging research. It also helps these researchers to expand their networks and polish their grant writing skill … Read more