Skip to main content
  • Improving Global Lung Health Through a Transcontinental Collaboration

    Shannon Carson, MD, chief of the UNC Division of Pulmonary & Critical Care Medicine, and Brad Drummond, MD, MHS, associate professor of medicine, are spearheading efforts to elevate global pulmonary research capacity through the American Thoracic Society MECOR China Program. The MECOR (Methods in Epidemiologic, Clinical, and Operations Research) Program, under the support of … Read more

  • Dr. Jason Akulian Leads First Clinical Research Site to Test Innovative Pleural Effusion Care

    In collaboration with the company Pleural Dynamics, UNC School of Medicine researchers led by Jason Akulian, MD, associate professor in the Department of Medicine, are the first to use a fully implantable automatic effusion shunt with no external catheters or expensive drainage canisters to provide an innovative new option for patients who struggle with chronic fluid collection.  … Read more

  • MacNider Building

    Accolades, Awards and Appointments Archive

    Congratulations to department faculty who received the following accolades, awards and appointments, June 1 – June 30, 2024. Millie Long, MD, MPH, will serve as interim chief of the UNC Division of Gastroenterology & Hepatology. Jose Martinez, MD, PhD, has been awarded UNC’s RNA Discovery Center’s Postdoctoral Fellowship for 2024/2025. Michelle Floris-Moore, MD, MPH, delivere … Read more

  • carolina-care-excellence

    95 Physicians and Advanced Practice Providers Awarded 2024 Carolina Care Excellence

    Each year, UNC Hospitals administers the Press Ganey Medical Practice survey to solicit feedback from patients. The survey asks our patients about their likelihood of recommending their provider’s practice to their friends and family. This year, 205 UNC physicians and advanced practice providers received the highest recommendations, which places them in the top quartile nationall … Read more

  • January- Grants and Funding

    Department of Medicine Grants & Funding: January 1 – January 31, 2024

    Division of Oncology Lisa Carey, MD, received a $225K grant titled, “Clinical implications of metastatic subtype, microenvironment, and organ of involvement.” Joannie Ivory, MD, was granted $240K for her project, “Participant Enrollment in a Multi-Site Randomized Clinical Trial of Endocrine Therapy Adherence Support.” Yara Abdou, MD, was awarded $240K to investigate molecular res … Read more

  • MacNider Building

    2024 Fellows Match to the Department of Medicine

    The Department of Medicine is honored to welcome new Tar Heel trainees! The National Resident Matching Program (NRMP) released results for the 2023 Medicine and Pediatric Specialties Match on November 29. More than 7,000 applicants matched to advanced training positions. After a successful Match, the following fellows will join Department subspecialties in July 2024. Division of … Read more

  • Faculty and Staff in the News Throughout October

    The clickable links below navigate directly to outside media articles which featured Department of Medicine faculty throughout the month of October.  Evan S. Dellon, MD, MPH, was featured in a New York Times article that depicts a patient’s experience with EoE. Faculty and fellows in the Division of Pulmonary Diseases & Critical Care Medicine attended the NC Thoracic Society … Read more

  • A photo of UNC Pulmonary and Critical Care Fellows as well as members of the ILD team at the recent NC Thoracic Society Conference on Interstitial Lung Diseases.

    Pulmonary Faculty and Fellows Attend NC Thoracic Society Conference on ILD

    The three Pulmonary Fibrosis Foundation sites in North Carolina, the University of North Carolina, Duke University and Cone Health, (UNC, Duke, and Cone Health) hosted the recent NC Thoracic Society Conference on Interstitial Lung Diseases. Drs. Jason Lobo and Kunal Patel were faculty speakers. Drs. Josh Clark and Emily Gosche were fellow speakers. The entire UNC ILD program was … Read more

  • August- Grants and Funding

    Department of Medicine Grants & Funding: August 1 – August 31, 2023

    Division of Hematology Brandi Reeves, MD, received a 5-year, NHLBI K08 Mentored Clinical Scientist Development Award for the research project, “Evaluating the Role of Hypoxia Inducible Factor in Myeloproliferative-Associated Thrombosis.” Daniel Richardson, MD, received a $150K grant for developing a patient-reported measure to identify treatment priorities of patients with advanc … Read more

  • Featured Advanced Practice Provider: Dwayne Bell

    Dwayne Bell, MSN, APRN, a North Carolina native, works in the Division of Pulmonary & Critical Care Medicine as a nurse practitioner. Dwayne has grown in his role at UNC since 2003 and enjoys educating patients and their families. Outside of work he can be found cycling, sky-gazing, and plane spotting. If Dwayne was stuck eating only one food it would be yams! 

  • Dr. Drummond Receives 2023 Solovy Award for COPD Research

    Respiratory Health Association (RHA) named M. Bradley Drummond, MD, MHS, the recipient of the 2023 Solovy Award for Advancement in COPD. Dr. Drummond is a distinguished, board-certified pulmonary and critical care physician and associate professor of medicine. The Solovy Award was established in memory of Mr. Jerold Solovy by his wife, Kathleen Hart Solovy, and funded by the Kath … Read more

  • jennifer-goralski-editorial-published-AJRCCM

    Dr. Goralski Publishes Study on Triple Therapy for Children with Cystic Fibrosis, Named Emerging Investigator by AJRCCM

    Jennifer Goralski, MD, was first author on a paper published in the recent edition of The American Journal of Respiratory and Critical Care Medicine. Titled, “Phase 3 Open-Label Clinical Trial of Elexacaftor/Tezacaftor/Ivacaftor in Children Aged 2 Through 5 Years with Cystic Fibrosis and at Least One F508del Allele” it can be accessed via PubMed here. The paper proved the safety … Read more