Skip to main content

Kristi Brendle, MSN, FNP-C, is a nurse practitioner with the UNC Advanced Care at Home program. She is originally from Georgia but has lived in North Carolina since 2000. Kristi is  a proud mom to a junior at UNC Charlotte and stepmom to a pilot with United. Outside of work and family she enjoys hiking, kayaking, reading and cooking! 

What is your role in the Department and what patients do you serve?

I primarily work with UNC Rex Hospitalist team. We have a diverse patient population with a wide variety of medical inpatient needs. I am also a nurse practitioner with the UNC Advanced Care at Home, where I care for hospitalized patients in their homes.

Where are you from?

I am originally from Jonesboro GA (about 20 minutes south of Atlanta), but have lived in NC since 2000

Did you always envision yourself as an APP?

I was originally in school for architecture when I survived a near-fatal car accident. During my long recovery, I experienced first-hand how vital health care providers were. I became a critical care for many years, then furthered my career as a nurse practitioner to manage and treat patients.

What is the most rewarding part of your work?

Seeing my patients’ health & lives improve, and earning my patients’ trust

How has your role evolved over time since you’ve been here?

I initially worked nights doing hospital-wide cross-cover. Then I transitioned to days where I rounded, but also did admissions and discharges. Recently, our hospitalist APP team has transitioned to primarily doing admissions and transfers.

What is one thing that you wish people knew about your job?

Working in the hospital is extremely rewarding, but it can be mentally and physically exhausting (especially if you are doing it right!)

Personally or professionally, what are you most proud of?

Personally – most proud of my son (junior at UNC Charlotte) and my stepson (pilot with United). Professionally – proud that I have made it to this stage in my career.

If you didn’t have a career in medicine, what would you be doing?

architectural restoration and design, or writing

What hobbies do you enjoy outside of work?

Spending time w/ my family and my dogs, hiking, kayaking, reading, cooking, ancestry, always laughing

If you had to eat one food for the rest of your life, what would it be?


What is the best advice you’ve ever received?

One day, you will be grateful that things didn’t work out the way you originally planned. And to always, always be kind – you never know what someone else is going through.

What do you hope to accomplish in the next year?

Travel more, learn more, live more

What’s the last song you listened to?

Underground by City and Colour (saw them recently in concert)