A unique environment for graduate training in pathobiology and translational science…

Marc J. Mass Memorial Distinguished Lecture

Marc J Mass, Ph.D.

The Marc J. Mass Memorial Distinguished Lecture was established in 2001 in memory of Dr. Mass, a former colleague from our department. Marc was a valued contributor, colleague, and friend to the University of North Carolina’s Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine. He earned his PhD in 1980 from our Graduate Program in Pathology under the guidance of Dr. David Kaufmann, and then trained as a post-doctoral fellow at the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences. He subsequently joined the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) where he was active in a number of committees and workgroups, and served as the Acting Branch Chief for Molecular Toxicology in the Environmental Carcinogenesis Division. Marc was also appointed to the Editorial Board of Toxicological Sciences. He was a valued colleague and friend to many, and was recognized for his outstanding scientific contributions through invitations to various international and national meetings, and by the EPA with several awards, notably the Agency’s Bronze Medal in 1995. Each year the graduate students in the Pathobiology and Translational Science graduate program select and host an outstanding biomedical scientist to spend the day with them and give a presentation in honor of Dr. Mass.

2017 Marc J. Mass Memorial Distinguished Lecturer

Mina J. Bissell, Ph.D.
Distinguished Scientist
Biological Systems and Engineering Division
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

“Why don’t we get more cancer: the critical role of ECM and microenvironment in malignancy and dormancy”

12:00 PM, Thursday, March 16, 2017
Bondurant Hall, Room G100

Past Marc J. Mass Memorial Distinguished Lecturers:

2016 Susan Slaugenhaupt, Ph.D.

2014 Charles E. Murry, M.D., Ph.D.

2012 Patricia D’Amore, Ph.D.

2010 Tyler Jacks, Ph.D.

2009 Robert Schreiber, Ph.D.

2008 Peter Libby, M.D.

2007 Eric Olson, Ph.D.

2006 Patricia Steeg, Ph.D.

2005 Nelson Fausto, M.D.

2003 Robert Gallo, M.D.

Pathobiology and Translational Science Graduate Program