Robert Adams gets Award of Excellence; Mahesh Varia, Elaine Zeman induced as Fellows

Dr. Robert Adams received the American Association of Medical Dosimetrist’s (AAMD) 2009 Award of Excellence, in recognition of distinguished accomplishments and contributions to the field of medical dosimetry. The Award of Excellence is the highest honor that the AAMD bestows, and was presented to Dr. Adams during the society’s June, 2009 annual meeting held in Scottsdale, AZ.

On May 20, 2009, Drs. Mahesh Varia and Elaine Zeman were inducted as Fellows in the UNC School of Medicine’s Academy of Educators in recognition of their long-standing contributions to resident education and mentorship. The Academy, first established in 2006, has as part of its mission to promote and support excellence in teaching and the work and career paths of excellent teachers.

Dr. Robert Adams is the recipient of the 2008-2009 Harold Silverman Distinguished Author Award for his peer-reviewed paper entitled “The Admissions Process and Student Success in Radiation Therapy Education”, published with co-author Laura Ochs in the Fall, 2008 edition of the journal Radiation Therapist.