Skip to main content

Caster awarded Pope Clinical Fellowship

August 31, 2016

Congratulations to radiation oncology resident and physician-scientist Dr. Joe Caster on his recent selection as a 2016 John William Pope Clinical Fellow. Three fellowship awardees, chosen annually based on nominations and voting by oncology-related department chairs and division chiefs, are … Continued

Radiation Oncology represented at annual ASCO meeting

July 12, 2016

The Department of Radiation Oncology was well-represented at the annual American Society for Clinical Oncology (ASCO) meeting June 3-7, 2016 in Chicago. A total of twelve abstracts were accepted for presentation, with more than half authored or co-authored by our … Continued

Falchook receives Pope Clinical Fellows Award

July 15, 2015

Chief Resident Dr. Aaron Falchook is one of three recipients of the 2015 Pope Clinical Fellows Award, a prestigious honor recognizing excellence in cancer-related research by aspiring physician-scientists. This UNC Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center award is given annually, with each … Continued

Chang featured in UNC Endeavors magazine

January 21, 2014

Congratulations to physics division director Dr. Sha Chang for being featured in UNC Endeavors magazine, the official research and creative activity magazine of UNC-Chapel Hill. Her work, in collaboration with Dr. Otto Zhou, David Godschalk Distinguished Professor of Physics and … Continued

Gastrointestinal Cancer SPORE

August 29, 2011

Goal: use of combined modality therapy in the treatment of diseases of the GI tract, and assessing possible biological indicators of treatment response.

Breast Cancer SPORE

February 24, 2011

Goal: use a team approach to review cases before treatment begins, rather than after treatment decisions have been made.

Apisarnthanarax, Brady: Best poster awards at 2008 UNC Lineberger retreat

April 19, 2010

Dr. Jim Apisarnthanarax, a recent resident radiation oncologist, was awarded First Place for best clinical/translational poster at the 2008 UNC Lineberger Annual Scientific Retreat. Dr. Donita Brady, a recent doctoral recipient from Dr. Adrienne Cox’s lab, was awarded First Place for best basic science poster at the 2008 UNC Lineberger Annual Scientific Retreat.