Skip to main content

Faculty Recognition

Rookie of the Year Reza Rahbar, MD
Teacher of the Year Sean McLean, MD
Mark J. Koruda, MD Resident Advocate Award Michael Meyers, MD
Anthony A. Meyer Mentor of the Year Anthony Charles, MD
Surgical Service of the Year
(given by Residents)
Lower GI
Outstanding Service Award
(given by Interns)
Thoracic Surgery

Resident Recognition

Eskelund Award

Chief Resident

Elizabeth Speck, MD

3rd Year

Michael Phillips, MD


Mansi Shah, MD
H. Max Schiebel, MD Award for Surgical Professionalism Matthew Alleman, MD
Herbert J. Proctor Award for Excellence in Surgical Research Megan Fuller, MD
In-Service Award

Junior Level

Kristen Sell, MD

Senior Level

Colin Bird, MD

Highest Increase

Colin Bird, MD

Scored above 90%

Kristen Sell, MD
Joe Messick, MD Memorial Award Nicole Chaumont, MD
Megan Quintana, MD
Nathan A. Womack Scholar Award Jeffrey Carter, MD
Outstanding Laparoendoscopic Resident Award Matthew Alleman, MD
WakeMed Surgery Resident of the Year Jeffrey Dehmer, MD
Adam Suchar, MD

Medical Student Recognition

George F. Sheldon, MD Leadership Award Mamie Groomes, MD
Sean McNally, MD

Surgery Staff Recognition

Staff Excellence Award Melissa Haugh
Ted Hobgood
Star Heels Award

Robby Knight

Ponda Prince

Jana Baker Ross

Paula Steele