Skip to main content

Alpha Omega Alpha

John van Aalst, MD

Faculty Recognition

Rookie of the Year not awarded
Teacher of the Year Reza Rahbar, MD
Mark J. Koruda, MD Resident Advocate Award H.J. Kim, MD
Anthony A. Meyer Mentor of the Year Anthony Charles, MD
Lynn Farber Advanced Practice Provider of the Year Blaine Brower, RN, MSN, FNP-BC
Surgical Service of the Year
(given by Residents)
Outstanding Service Award
(given by Interns)

Resident Recognition

Eskelund Award

Chief Resident

Michelle Kiser, MD

3rd Year

Kirk Cadell, MD


Sara Kim, MD
George F. Sheldon, MD Surgical Research Award Robert J. Torphy
H. Max Schiebel, MD Award for Surgical Professionalism Jessica Cioffi, MD
Herbert J. Proctor Award for Excellence in Surgical Research Michael Phillips, MD
In-Service Award

Junior Level

Abraham Korn, MD

Senior Level

Michael Phillips, MD

Highest Increase

Javeria Qureshi, MD

Scored above 90%

Abraham Korn, MD and Sara Kim, MD
Joe Messick, MD Memorial Award Joanna Grudziak, MD
Nathan A. Womack Scholar Award Jessica Cioffi, MD
NC Jaycee Burn Center John Stackhouse Award Mansi Shah, MD
NC Jaycee Burn Center Award Thaddeus Puzio, MD

Sara Kim, MD

WakeMed Surgery Resident of the Year Trista Reid, MD
WakeMed Mid-Level Recognition Award Trista Reid, MD

Medical Student Recognition

George F. Sheldon, MD Leadership Award Sara Myers, MD

Surgery Staff Recognition

Staff Excellence Award Layla Portier
Star Heels Award

Team Player

Elisabeth Carter


Grant Harrison

Patient Care

Beverly Holt

Above and Beyond

Marisa DeBunkante