Skip to main content

Alpha Omega Alpha

Thaniyyah Ahmad, MD

Mansi Shah, MD

Faculty Recognition

Rookie of the Year Amy Alger, MD
Teacher of the Year Hartwig Bunzendahl, MD
Mark J. Koruda, MD Resident Advocate Award Sean McLean, MD
Anthony A. Meyer Mentor of the Year Dr. Michael O. Meyers
Lynn Farber Advanced Practice Provider of the Year Audrey Merinar
Surgical Service of the Year
(given by Residents)
GI Surgery
Outstanding Service Award
(given by Interns)

Resident Recognition

Eskelund Award

Chief Resident

Sumayah Hargette, MD

3rd Year

Joanna Grudziak, MD


Lana Bahour, MD
George F. Sheldon, MD Surgical Research Award Megan Quintana, MD
H. Max Schiebel, MD Award for Surgical Professionalism Nicole Chaumont, MD
Herbert J. Proctor Award for Excellence in Surgical Research Chris Tignanelli, MD
In-Service Award

Junior Level

Rafi Fredman, MD

Senior Level

Trista Reid, MD

Highest Increase

Sr: Trista Reid, MD
Jr: Jonathan Black, MD

Scored above 90%

Chelsea Becker, MD
Sara Kim, MD
Rafi Fredman, MD
Trista Reid, MD
Joe Messick, MD Memorial Award Teddy Puzio, MD
Nathan A. Womack Scholar Award Staci Beamer, MD
NC Jaycee Burn Center John Stackhouse Award Kevin Chang, MD
Rajat Kumar, MD
NC Jaycee Burn Center Award Bailey Sanders, MD
Dr. Robert C. Cefalo House Officer Award Michael Phillips, MD
WakeMed Surgery Resident of the Year Kirk Caddell, MD
WakeMed Mid-Level Recognition Award

Medical Student Recognition

George F. Sheldon, MD Leadership Award Alison Halpern

Surgery Staff Recognition

Staff Excellence Award The Accounting Team

  • Gina Potts
  • Paul Clement
  • Tonia Lefler
  • Kim Collins
  • Donna Redman
Star Heels Award

Team Player

Stephen Gazda (CT)

Amy Marzinsky (Peds)


Paula Steele (Transplant)

Patient Care

Jesse Clement (Trauma)

Above and Beyond

Ted Hobgood (Admin)

Jana Ross (Admin)