Skip to main content

Faculty Recognition

Rookie of the Year Trista Reid, MD
Teacher of the Year Timothy Sadiq, MD
Mark J. Koruda, MD Resident Advocate Award Michael Meyers, MD
Anthony A. Meyer Mentor of the Year Mark Koruda, MD
Lynn Farber Advanced Practice Provider of the Year Mary Ann Collins
Audrey Merinar
Surgical Service of the Year
(given by Residents)
SRG – Lower GI Surgery
Outstanding Service Award
(given by Interns)
Thoracic Surgery

Resident Recognition

Eskelund Award

Chief Resident

Megan Quintana, MD

3rd Year

Bailey Sanders, MD


Peter Marcinkowski, MD
George F. Sheldon, MD Surgical Research Award
H. Max Schiebel, MD Award for Surgical Professionalism Kevin Chang, MD
Herbert J. Proctor Award for Excellence in Surgical Research Jared Gallaher, MD
Tyler Ellis, MD
Keith Amos Award Karishma Reddy, MD
In-Service Award

Junior Level

Stephen Mahoney

Senior Level

Sara Scarlet

Highest Increase

Sr: Tyler Ellis
Jr: Emily Newton

Scored above 90%

Lauren Moskal
Josh Herb
Stephen Mahoney
Sara Scarlet
Joe Messick, MD Memorial Award Laura Purcell, MD
Nathan A. Womack Scholar Award Kristin Sell-Dottin, MD
NC Jaycee Burn Center John Stackhouse Award Bailey Sanders, MD
NC Jaycee Burn Center Award Benjamin Hechler, MD
Dr. Robert C. Cefalo House Officer Award Megan Quintana, MD
WakeMed Surgery Resident of the Year
WakeMed Mid-Level Recognition Award

Medical Student Recognition

George F. Sheldon, MD Leadership Award Billy Oslund

Surgery Staff Recognition

Staff Excellence Award Melainie Bolick
Star Heels Award

Team Player


Patient Care

Above and Beyond