The Center’s research into the causes and mechanisms of addiction provides tomorrow’s best hope for improved treatments and, ultimately, finding a reliable cure. Our researchers investigate the mechanisms of alcohol tolerance, dependence and withdrawal, as well as damage to the brain, liver, and fetus. We are developing more compounds to be used, alongside standard therapies, to alleviate withdrawal and reduce relapse. The interaction of genetics and environment are studied to better understand the causes of addiction. Physicians conduct clinical trials to evaluate treatments and bridge the gap between research and practice. Center researchers have developed new scientific techniques and protocols in the field of addiction medicine. Better diagnostic tools for physicians and therapists are emerging through Center research.

Fulton T. Crews, Ph.D.

1021 Thurston Bowles Bldg, CB #7178
Email ftcrews@med.unc.edu

 

A. Leslie Morrow, Ph.D.
A. Leslie Morrow, Ph.D.

3027 Thurston-Bowles Bldg, CB #7178
Email morrow@med.unc.edu

 

Joyce Besheer, Ph.D.
6125A Thurston-Bowles Bldg, CB #7178
Email

 

Charlotte Boettiger, Ph.D.
Charlotte Boettiger, Ph.D.

304B Davie Hall, CB #3270
Email cab@email.unc.edu

 

George Breese, Ph.D.
George R. Breese, Ph.D.
3007 Thurston-Bowles Bldg, CB #7178
Email george_breese@med.unc.edu

 

Michael Chua, Ph.D.
7201 Marsico Hall
Email

 

Leon Coleman, M.D., Ph.D.
1007C Thurston-Bowles Bldg, CB #7178
Email leon_coleman@med.unc.edu

 

 

Melissa Herman, Ph.D.
1025B Thurston Bowles Building CB #7178
Email

 

Hodge 2015
Clyde W. Hodge, Ph.D.
3019A Thurston-Bowles Building CB #7178
Email

 

Thomas Kash, Ph.D.
Thomas Kash, Ph.D.
5023 Thurston-Bowles Building CB #7178
Email tkash@email.unc.edu

 

Darin Knapp, Ph.D.

316 Wilson Library CB #3470

Email darin_knapp@med.unc.edu

 

Zoe McElligott, Ph.D.
5101 Thurston-Bowles Building CB #7178
Email

 

Montserrat Navarro, Ph.D.
119 Davie Hall CB #3270
Email mthiele@email.unc.edu

 

Parnell
Scott Parnell, Ph.D.
1025A Thurston-Bowles Building CB #7178
Email sparnell@med.unc.edu

 

Donita 2017
Donita Robinson, Ph.D.
5007A Thurston-Bowles Building CB #7178
Email dlr@unc.edu

 

Yen-Yu Ian Shih
125 Mason Farm Road CB #7513
Chapel Hill, NC 27599
Email

 

Todd Thiele, Ph.D.
3270 Davie Hall
Email thiele@unc.edu

 

Wilhelmsen
Kirk Wilhelmsen, M.D., Ph.D.
5093 Genetic Medicine
Email kirk@med.unc.edu

 

BCAS Emeritus Faculty

Robert Gwyther, M.D., MBA

 

Kathleen K. Sulik, Ph.D.