Skip to main content

Make a Gift


On Saturday, June 1st, UNC Anesthesiology hosted its annual end-of-year celebration of CA-3 residency graduates at the Chapel Hill Country Club. The ceremony included resident awards for exemplary work and contributions, as well as faculty awards for excellence in teaching and mentoring residents toward competence and readiness for independent practice upon graduation.

Resident Awards:

George F. Sheldon Leadership Award: Dr. Jen Tripi
Most Outstanding Resident in Anesthesiology: Dr. Damon Wallace
Outstanding Resident in Research: Dr. Steven Eastlack
The Bailey-Valley Award for Pediatric Anesthesiology: Dr. Elizabeth Willis

Faculty Awards:

(Non-Anesthesiologist) – Dr. Jeremiah “Jig” Deneve (Department of Surgery, Division of Surgical-Oncology)
Junior Faculty Teacher of the Year – Dr. Brad Brown
Junior Faculty Mentor of the Year – Drs. Jeremy Armbruster and Michael Hart (tie)
Senior Faculty Teacher of the Year – Dr. James Williams
Senior Faculty Mentor of the Year – Dr. Ben Cobb

At year’s end, the ceremony honored teaching and research faculty named to a first-time “Faculty Teaching Honor Roll.” As part of a new residency education process, involvement in resident evaluations, education sessions (eg, board prep series, POCUS workshops), SIM sessions, residency committees and mock oral/OSCE participation factored into selection of teaching faculty for the 2024 Faculty Teaching Honor Roll:

Dr. Greg Balfanz
Dr. Sam Blacker
Dr. Ben Cobb
Dr. George Dignan
Dr. Alex Doyal
Dr. Lindsey Gouker
Dr. Stuart Grant
Dr. Lauriane Guichard
Dr. Michael Hart
Dr. Mark Henry
Dr. Shawn Jia
Dr. Lavinia Kolarczyk
Dr. Elisa Lund
Dr. Susie Martinelli
Dr. Duncan McLean
Dr. Monika Nanda
Dr. Andres Rojas
Dr. Daniel Rosenkrans
Dr. Ric Serrano
Dr. Alan Smeltz
Dr. Lacey Straube
Dr. Annika Webb