Skip to main content

The Carolina Antimicrobial Stewardship Program and the Outpatient Parenteral Antibiotic Therapy (OPAT) program are joint programs between the Department of Pharmacy and the Divisions of Adult and Pediatric Infectious Diseases at UNC Hospitals.

Day-to-day stewardship is carried out by a multi-disciplinary team:

Clinical Leadership:

  • Nikolaos Mavrogiorgos, MD | Medical Director, Carolina Antimicrobial Stewardship Program
  • Lindsay Daniels, PharmD, MPH | Pharmacy Lead, Carolina Antimicrobial Stewardship Program
  • Zachary Willis, MD, MPH | Pediatric Director, Carolina Antimicrobial Stewardship Program

Pharmacy Stewards:

  • Travis M. Jones, PharmD | CASP Stewardship Pharmacist
  • Ashley Marx, PharmD | Clinical Pharmacy Specialist in Infectious Diseases, UNC Medical Center; Associate Professor of Clinical Education, Division of Practice Advancement and Clinical Education, UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy
  • William (Bill) Wilson, PharmD, BCPS | Pediatric Infectious Diseases Pharmacist
  • Stephanie Hill, PharmD | Infectious Diseases Pharmacy Resident

Stewardship Attending Physicians:

Non-clinical Program Colleagues:

  • Danielle Doughman, MSPH | Sr. Program Manager, Carolina Antimicrobial Stewardship Program
  • Emily Lineberry, PharmD | Clinical Manager, Department of Pharmacy
  • Emily Sickbert-Bennett, PhD | Administrative Director, Carolina Antimicrobial Stewardship Program
  • Michael Swartwood, MSN, RN, CAPM | Project Manager, Antibiotic Time-Outs

Outpatient Parenteral Antibiotic Therapy (OPAT) Program Team

  • Claire Farel, MD, MPH | Co-director, OPAT
  • Mary Catherine Bowman, MD, PhD | Co-director, OPAT
  • vacant | OPAT Pharmacist
  • Emily Ciccone, MD, MHS | Advanced OPAT Fellow
  • Brian Bramson, MD | OPAT Physician
  • Corazon Halsey, MSN, FNP-BC | OPAT Nurse Practitioner
  • Alan Kinlaw, PhD, MSPH | OPAT Epidemiologist
  • Nikolaos¬†Mavrogiorgos, MD | OPAT Physician
  • Terre Oosterwyk, MSN, RN | OPAT Nurse Coordinator
  • Suzy Rogers | OPAT Patient Coordinator
  • Asher Schranz, MD | OPAT Physician
  • Michael Swartwood, MSN, RN, CAPM | OPAT Data Manager