Congratulations Dr. Ed Kernick!!

May 24, 2019

Dr. Ed Kernick has received the highly distinguished “Professor Award” at the 2018 AND 2019 UNC School of Medicine Graduations.  This award, selected by the senior class, is given in recognition of a faculty member who, by his or his willingness, understanding and ability, has contributed the most to student’s medical education. Dr. Kernick also … Continued

CBP and the Neuroscience Center Welcomes Greg Scherrer and Adam Hantman

May 10, 2019

Cell Biology and Physiology and the Neuroscience Center are excited to welcome Drs. Gregory Scherrer and Adam Hantman!   Dr. Gregory Scherrer will join Cell Biology and Physiology and the Neuroscience Center in September 2019.  Dr. Scherrer comes to UNC from Stanford University where he was an Assistant Professor.  The Scherrer Lab investigates the neurobiology … Continued

Carol Otey Receives Instructor of the Year Award

April 24, 2019

Dr. Carol Otey was awarded Instructor of the Year, selected by the first-year students in the PharmD doctoral program.  The award was presented by class Vice-President, Kendrick Cobb (pictured with Carol Otey).

Michelle Itano Earns CZI Grant to support Imaging Scientists

March 19, 2019

The Chan Zuckerberg Initiative will support the innovative imaging work of Michelle Itano, PhD, director of the UNC Neuroscience Microscopy Core facility for five years thanks to a grant totaling nearly $800,000.  Click here for article.

Lorenzo earns ADA junior faculty award

February 26, 2019

The American Diabetes Association selected Damaris Lorenzo, PhD, as a winner of its Junior Faculty Development Award, which carries with it funding for further research on diabetes-related investigations.  Click here for article.

Montgomery receives Living Legend Award

February 11, 2019

Retired CBP professor Royce Montgomery received the Living Legend Award at the 38th Annual Zollicoffer-Merrimon Banquet at the UNC alumni club. Seen in the photo are Royce, Kurt Gilliland, and Dr. Michael Zollicoffer (MD, UNC, 1985). Michael’s father was the 4th black medical student at UNC. The lecture and banquet are intended to increase the … Continued

Ben Major and Kathleen Caron won Excellence in Basic Science Mentoring Awards

January 17, 2019

On Tuesday, the Office of Graduate Education (OGE) and Office of Faculty Affairs and Leadership Development recognized 10 faculty members at UNC-Chapel Hill for the inaugural Excellence in Basic Science Mentoring award. The celebration was part of a larger cultural movement in the biomedical sciences to prioritize mentoring and diversify the scientific enterprise. continue