Department of Medicine Administration

On this page: Department Vice Chairs | Internal Medicine Residency Program | Medicine Administration Staff | Medical Admitting Officers | Human Resources | Department Divisions | Department Centers

Department Chair

Ronald Falk, MD / Photo by Rochelle MoserRon Falk, MD
Chair, Department of Medicine; Nan and Hugh Cullman Eminent Professor; Co-Director, UNC Kidney Center

Office: 125 MacNider Hall
919-843-6485
Email: ronald_falk@med.unc.edu

Department Vice Chairs

Lee Berkowitz, MD
Vice Chair for Education; Eunice Bernhard Distinguished Professor of Medicine
Office: 125 MacNider Hall
919-843-8075

Email:

Cristin Colford, MD
Vice Chair for Clinical Services; Professor of Medicine
919-445-6796
Email: 

Spencer Dorn, MD, MPH, MHASpencer Dorn, MD, MPH, MHA
Vice Chair for Care Innovation; Associate Professor of Medicine
919-966-2259
Email: 

Linda Raftery
Vice Chair for Administration
Office: 125 MacNider Hall
919-843-4913

Email:

Janet Rubin, MD
Vice Chair for Research; Professor of Medicine
Office: 5032 Burnett-Womack
919-966-6744
Email: jrubin@med.unc.edu

Internal Medicine Residency Program

Debra Bynum, MD, MMEL
Program Director, Internal Medicine Residency Program; Associate Professor of Medicine
Office: 126 MacNider Hall
919-966-1043
Email:

Michele Lowe
Administrator, Residency Program
Office: 126 MacNider Hall
919-966-1216
Email: 

Katrina “Trina” Cosbert
Administrative Support Specialist, Residency Program
Office: 126 MacNider Hall 
919-966-1043
kcosbert@med.unc.edu

Medicine Administration Staff

Karen AppersonKaren Apperson
Senior Executive Assistant to the Chair, also assisting Lee Berkowitz & Janet Rubin
Office: 125 MacNider Hall
919-966-9286
Email: karen_apperson@med.unc.edu 

Jaime FosterJaime Foster
Senior Executive Assistant to Linda Raftery & Cristin Colford
Office: 125 MacNider Hall 
919-966-4468
Email:

Lois BenderLois Bender
Finance-Accountant
Office:  2000-C Old Clinic Bldg.
919-843-6346
Email: lois_bender@med.unc.edu

Beth BraxtonBeth Braxton
The Medical Foundation, Inc.
Director of Development
919-843-8254 (office)
864-872-1613 (mobile)
Email: 

Kristen HendricksonKristen Hendrickson
Communications Specialist
Email: 

Scott KellerScott Keller
Director of Business Development
Office: 125 MacNider Hall
919-843-5206
Email: scott­_keller@med.unc.edu

Kim MorrisKim Morris
Communications Specialist
919-962-8828
Email: 

Jane NoiJane Noi
Senior Executive Assistant to Janet Hadar
Office: 316 Medical School Wing E
984-974-2819
Email:  

Ellen ParkerEllen Parker
Nurse Practitioner for Dr. Andrew Greganti
Office: 125 MacNider Hall
919-843-8840
Email: ellen_parker@med.unc.edu

Ashwini Roy-Chaudhury, MPH
Director of Clinical Trials
Email: ashwini_roy-chaudhury@med.unc.edu

Ryan TerrellRyan Terrell
Finance-Business Manager
Office: 043 MacNider Hall
919-843-5222
Email: ryan_terrell@med.unc.edu

Lynn Egan
Finance-Reimbursement Analyst
Office: 069 MacNider Hall
919-843-2646
Email: lynn_egan@med.unc.edu

Brian Hatrick
Business Analyst
043 MacNider Hall
919-832-2331
Email: brian_hatrick@med.unc.edu

Paige Krier
Business Analyst
043-D MacNider Hall
919-843-6487
Email: paige_krier@med.unc.edu

Sherina Matlock
Accountant
Office: 043 MacNider Hall
919-843-6151
Email:

Suzanne Scott
Finance-Business Analytics Specialist
Office: 043 MacNider Hall
919-966-2420
Email:

John Vargas
Project Manager, Operations and Analytics
069 MacNider Hall
919-966-5448
Email: 

Taylor Watts
Business Analyst
043 MacNider Hall
919-843-6347
Email: stwatts@med.unc.edu

Medical Admitting Officers

Stephanie Briley, RN, BSN, CCRN
Medical Admitting Officer
919-667-4493
Pager: 919-216-5086

Joanne Lowry, BSN, RN, MS-BC
Medical Admitting Officer
919-667-4493
Pager: 919-216-0936
Email: 

Renee Wesson, RN, BSN, CNML
Medical Admitting Officer
919-667-4493
Pager: 919-216-2766
Email: renee.wesson@unchealth.unc.edu

Susan Zepeda, RN, BSN, CCRN
Medical Admitting Officer
919-667-4493
Pager: 919-216-5182
Email:  

Human Resources

Karen Clayton
HR Manager
Office: 121 MacNider Hall
919-843-6490
Email: 

Kim Duval
HR Consultant

Office: 121 MacNider Hall
919-843-7366
Email: 

Cheryl Long
HR Consultant
Office: 121 MacNider Hall
919-843-6488
Email: 

Vicki S. Pickard
HR Specialist
3201 Medical Biomolecular Research Building, CB #7126
919-962-8825
Email: 


Department Divisions

Cardiology

George A. Stouffer III, MD, Chief
919-966-5141

Randall Borror, MBA, PMP, Associate Chief of Administration
919-843-5429

Endocrinology & Metabolism

John Buse, MD, PhD, Chief
919-966-0134

Jill Cunnup, Division Administrator
919-966-0134 
jcunnup@med.unc.edu 

Gastroenterology and Hepatology

Nicholas J. Shaheen, MD, MPH, Chief
919-966-7047
nicholas_shaheen@med.unc.edu

Joanna Herath, Division Administrator
919-966-2369
 

General Medicine and Clinical Epidemiology

Darren DeWalt, MD, MPH, Chief
919-966-2276 

 

Malinda Williams, Division Administrator
919-966-2276 

Geriatric Medicine

Jan Busby-Whitehead, MD, Chief
919-966-5945
 

Jill Watson, Associate Chief of Administration
919-445-8772
jill.watson@unchealth.unc.edu

Faith R. Patterson, Business Analyst
919-445-6778 

Hematology/Oncology

Lisa Carey, MD, Chief
919-966-4431 

Associate Chief of Administration
919-966-4433
 

Hospital Medicine

David Hemsey, MD, Chief

Jill Watson, Associate Chief of Administration 
984-974-2917

Infectious Diseases

Joe Eron, MD, Chief
919-966-2537

Hannah Little, Associate Chief of Administration
919-843-7870

Nephrology and Hypertension

Gerald Hladik, MD, Chief
919-445-2644
 

Trina Pugh, Division Administrator
919-445-2648 

Pulmonary Diseases & Critical Care Medicine

Shannon Carson, MD, Chief
919-966-2531
scarson@med.unc.edu 

Hannah Little, Associate Chief of Administration
919-843-7870

Rheumatology, Allergy & Immunology

Beth L. Jonas, MD, FACR, Chief
866-827-2862

Melba Ribeiro, Associate Chief of Administration
melba_ribeiro@med.unc.edu
866-827-2862

 


Department Centers

Center for Aging and Health

Jan Busby-Whitehead, MD, Director
919-966-5945
 

Jill Watson, Division & Center Administrator
919-445-8772
jill.watson@unchealth.unc.edu

Faith R. Patterson
Business Analyst
919-445-6778

Center For Gastrointestinal Biology & Diseases (CGIBD)

Robert Sandler, MD, Director
919-966-1757

Center for Functional GI & Motility Disorders (FGID)

William E. Whitehead, PhD, Director
919-843-6961

Yehuda Ringel, MD (Currently on Sabbatical), Associate Director

Diabetes Care Center

John Buse, MD, PhD, Director
919-966-0134

Jill Cunnup, Division Administrator
919-966-0134 
jcunnup@med.unc.edu 

Institute for Global Health and Infectious Diseases

Myron S. Cohen, MD, Director
919-966-2536

Diana Stanley, MSPH, Administrative Director for Research and Compliance
919-843-7935
 

Lineberger Cancer Center

Shelton Earp, MD, Interim Director

Marsico Lung Institute

Richard C. Boucher, MD, Director
919-966-7064

Michael R. Knowles, MD, Co-Director
919-966-6780

McAllister Heart Institute

Vicki Bautch, PhD, Co-Director
919-966-6797

Rick Stouffer, MD, Co-Director
919-843-5201 

Thurston Arthritis Research Center

Richard F. Loeser, Jr., MD, Director 

Melba Ribeiro, Administrative Director
melba_ribeiro@med.unc.edu
866-827-2862

UNC Kidney Center

Ron Falk, MD, Co-Director
919-966-2561

Abhi Kshirsagar, MD, MPH, Deputy Director
919-445-2684
sagar@med.unc.edu

Prabir Roy-Chaudhury, MD, PhD, Co-Director
prabir_roy-chaudhury@med.unc.edu

Trina Pugh, Center Administrator
919-445-2648