Skip to main content

Medicine Administration Staff | Internal Medicine Residency Program | Medical Admitting Officers | Human Resources | Department Divisions | Department Centers

Medicine Administration Staff

Karen AppersonKaren Apperson
Senior Executive Assistant to the Chair, also assisting Lee Berkowitz & Janet Rubin
Office: 125 MacNider Hall
919-966-9286
Email: karen_apperson@med.unc.edu 

Noelé C. DanielsNoelé Daniels
Administrative Specialist
Office: 125 MacNider Hall
919-966-4468
Email: noele_parson@med.unc.edu

Jaime FosterJaime Foster
Senior Executive Assistant to Linda Raftery & Cristin Colford
Office: 125 MacNider Hall 
919-966-4468
Email:

Finance, Business Development and Analytics

Lois BenderLois Bender
Finance-Accountant
Office: 2000-C Old Clinic Bldg.
919-843-6346
Email: lois_bender@med.unc.edu

Brian HatrickBrian Hatrick
Business Analyst
Office: 043 MacNider Hall
919-832-2331
Email: brian_hatrick@med.unc.edu

Scott KellerScott Keller
Director of Business Development
Office: 125 MacNider Hall
919-843-5206
Email: scott­_keller@med.unc.edu

Matt-KretzchmarMatthew Kretzschmar, MBA
Business Manager
Office: 125 MacNider Hall
919-445-2430
Email: matthew_kretzschmar@med.unc.edu

Paige KrierPaige Krier
Business Analyst
Office: 043-D MacNider Hall
919-843-6487
Email: paige_krier@med.unc.edu

Sherina MatlockSherina Matlock
Accountant
Office: 043 MacNider Hall
919-843-6151
Email:

Ryan TerrellRyan Terrell
Finance-Business Manager
Office: 043 MacNider Hall
919-843-5222
Email: ryan_terrell@med.unc.edu

John VargasJohn Vargas
Senior Business Intelligence Analyst
Office: 069 MacNider Hall
919-966-5448
Email: 

Taylor WattsTaylor Watts
Business Analyst
Office: 043 MacNider Hall
919-843-6347
Email: stwatts@email.unc.edu

Communications

Kim MorrisKim Morris
Communications Specialist
919-962-8828
Email: 

Development

Beth BraxtonBeth Braxton
UNC Health Foundation
Director of Development
919-843-8254 (office)
864-872-1613 (mobile)
Email: 

Clinical Research

Ashwini Roy-Chaudhury, MPH
Director of Clinical Trials
Email: ashwini_roy-chaudhury@med.unc.edu

Internal Medicine Residency Program

Debra Bynum, MD, MMEL
Program Director, Internal Medicine Residency Program; Associate Professor of Medicine
Office: 126 MacNider Hall
919-966-1043
Email:

Julie-goldingJulie Golding
Program Coordinator, Residency Program
Office: 126 MacNider Hall
919-966-1043
E-mail: julie.golding@med.unc.edu

Kisa WilsonKisa Wilson
Administrative Support Specialist, Residency Program
Office: 126 MacNider Hall
919-966-1043
E-mail: kisa.wilson@unchealth.unc.edu

Medical Admitting Officers

Elizabeth Blakely, RN, BSNBeth Blakely
Medical Admitting Officer
919-667-4493
Pager: 919-216-0936
Email: elizabeth.blakely@unchealth.unc.edu
Steffi BrileyStephanie Briley, RN, BSN, CCRN
Medical Admitting Officer
919-667-4493
Pager: 919-216-5086
Email:

Joanne LowryJoanne Lowry, BSN, RN, MS-BC
Medical Admitting Officer
919-667-4493
Pager: 919-216-0936
Email: 

Renee WessonRenee Wesson, RN, BSN, CNML
Medical Admitting Officer
919-667-4493
Pager: 919-216-2766
Email: renee.wesson@unchealth.unc.edu

Tamara L. Williams, RN, BSN, PCCNTamara Williams, RN, BSN, PCCN
Medical Admitting Officer
919-667-4493
Pager: 919-393-1397
Email: tamara.williams@unchealth.unc.edu

Susan ZepedaSusan Zepeda, RN, BSN, CCRN
Medical Admitting Officer
919-667-4493
Pager: 919-216-5182
Email:  

Human Resources

karen-claytonKaren Clayton
HR Manager
Geriatric Medicine, Hospital Medicine
Office: 121 MacNider Hall
919-843-6490
Email: 

Caitlyn_CarmeanCaitlyn Carmean
HR Consultant
Hematology, Oncology, Blood Research Center
Office: 121 MacNider Hall
919-843-5996
Email: 

Terra-PikeTerra Pike Cornelius
HR Consultant
General Medicine, Nephrology
Office: 121 MacNider Hall
919-843-6489
Email: 

kim-duvalKim Duval
HR Consultant, Infectious Diseases, Pulmonary Medicine
Office: 121 MacNider Hall
919-843-7366
Email: 

Cheryl-LongCheryl Long
HR Consultant
Department Administration, Cardiology
Office: 121 MacNider Hall
919-843-6488
Email: 

vicki-pickardVicki S. Pickard
HR Specialist
McAllister Heart Institute, AHEC, TIM Administration
Office: 3201 Medical Biomolecular Research Building, CB #7126
919-962-8825
Email: 

aisha-silveraAisha L. Silvera
HR Consultant
Endocrinology, Gastroenterology, Rheumatology/Allergy/Immunology
Office: 3201 Medical Biomolecular Research Building, CB #7126
919-962-8878
Email: aisha_silvera@med.unc.edu


Department Divisions

Cardiology

George A. Stouffer III, MD, Chief
919-966-5141

Randall Borror, MBA, PMP, Associate Chief of Administration
919-843-5429

Endocrinology & Metabolism

John Buse, MD, PhD, Chief
919-966-0134

Jill Cunnup, Division Administrator
919-966-0134 
jcunnup@med.unc.edu 

Gastroenterology and Hepatology

Nicholas J. Shaheen, MD, MPH, Chief
919-966-7047
nicholas_shaheen@med.unc.edu

Joanna Herath, Associate Chief of Administration
919-966-2369
 

General Medicine and Clinical Epidemiology

Darren DeWalt, MD, MPH, Chief
919-966-2276 

 

Malinda Williams, Division Administrator
919-966-2276 

Geriatric Medicine

Jan Busby-Whitehead, MD, Chief
919-966-5945
 

Jill Watson, Associate Chief of Administration
919-445-8772
jill.watson@unchealth.unc.edu

Faith R. Patterson, Business Analyst
919-445-6778 

Hematology

Jonathan Serody, MD, Chief
919-966-4431 

jonathan_serody@med.unc.edu 


Hospital Medicine

David Hemsey, MD, Chief

Jill Watson, Associate Chief of Administration 
984-974-2917

Infectious Diseases

Joe Eron, MD, Chief
919-966-2537

Hannah Little, Associate Chief of Administration
919-843-7870

Nephrology and Hypertension

Gerald Hladik, MD, Chief
919-445-2644
 

Trina Pugh, Division Administrator
919-445-2648 

Oncology

Ethan Basch, MD, Chief
919-966-4431


Pulmonary Diseases & Critical Care Medicine

Shannon Carson, MD, Chief
919-966-2531
scarson@med.unc.edu 

Hannah Little, Associate Chief of Administration
919-843-7870

Rheumatology, Allergy & Immunology

Beth L. Jonas, MD, FACR, Chief
866-827-2862

Joanna Herath, Associate Chief of Administration
919-966-2369
 


Department Centers

Center for Aging and Health

Jan Busby-Whitehead, MD, Director
919-966-5945
 

Jill Watson, Division & Center Administrator
919-445-8772
jill.watson@unchealth.unc.edu

Faith R. Patterson
Business Analyst
919-445-6778

Blood Research Center

Nigel Key, MD, Director
919-966-3311
 

Raj Kasthuri, MD, Associate Director Clinical Research
919-966-3311
raj_kasthuri@med.unc.edu

Nigel Mackman, PhD, Associate Director Basic Science
919-843-3961
nigel_mackman@med.unc.edu

Christine Hill, MHA, BRC Center Administration
919-843-3960
christine_hill@med.unc.edu

Center For Gastrointestinal Biology & Diseases (CGIBD)

Robert Sandler, MD, Director
919-966-1757

Joanna Herath, Associate Chief of Administration
919-966-2369

Center for Functional GI & Motility Disorders (FGID)

William E. Whitehead, PhD, Director
919-843-6961

Yehuda Ringel, MD (Currently on Sabbatical), Associate Director

Diabetes Care Center

John Buse, MD, PhD, Director
919-966-0134

Jill Cunnup, Division Administrator
919-966-0134 
jcunnup@med.unc.edu 

Institute for Global Health and Infectious Diseases

Myron S. Cohen, MD, Director
919-966-2536

Diana Stanley, MSPH, Administrative Director for Research and Compliance
919-843-7935
 

Lineberger Cancer Center

Shelton Earp, MD, Interim Director

Marsico Lung Institute

Richard C. Boucher, MD, Director
919-966-7064

Michael R. Knowles, MD, Co-Director
919-966-6780

McAllister Heart Institute

Vicki Bautch, PhD, Co-Director
919-966-6797

Rick Stouffer, MD, Co-Director
919-843-5201 

Thurston Arthritis Research Center

Richard F. Loeser, Jr., MD, Director 

UNC Kidney Center

Ron Falk, MD, Co-Director
919-966-2561

Abhi Kshirsagar, MD, MPH, Deputy Director
919-445-2684
sagar@med.unc.edu

Prabir Roy-Chaudhury, MD, PhD, Co-Director
prabir_roy-chaudhury@med.unc.edu

Trina Pugh, Center Administrator
919-445-2648