Skip to main content

The UNC School of Medicine Student Government, previously known as the Whitehead Medical Society in honor of Dr. Richard H. Whitehead, held the Fall Convocation and Award Ceremony. The Department of Medicine was well represented during the award ceremony.

Christopher Klipstein, MD
Lindsay Wilson, MD, MPH
Lindsay Wilson, MD, MPH

Lindsay Wilson, MD, MPH, associate professor in the Division of Geriatric Medicine, was selected by the senior class for the Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award. Dr. Wilson was recognized for her compassion, empathy, respect, cultural sensitivity, communication skills and professional ethical standards in the delivery of care.

Christopher Klipstein, MD, co-director of the HISC Course and professor in the Division of General Medicine and Clinical Epidemiology, received The Hyman L. Battle Distinguished Excellence in Teaching Award in the Clinical Sciences. He was selected by the Class of 2021 to recognize his exceptional teaching in the clinical curriculum.

The Best Application Phase Course Award, established to honor the clinical courses that most significantly contributed to the education of third-year medical students, also went to Dr. Klipstein.

Kathryn Johnson
Kathryn Johnson, MD
Portia Nleya, MD, MPH

Kathryn Johnson, MD, internal medicine resident and Portia Nleya, MD, MPH, internal medicine intern, received a Kaiser Permanente Excellence in Teaching Award. The recipients contribute in an exemplary way to the education of medical students with their enthusiasm for teaching and promoting involvement of students on the medical team.

Koyal Jain, MD, associate professor in the Division of Nephrology and Hypertension, and director of undergraduate medical education for the Department of Medicine, was honored with The Best Foundation Phase Block Award. This award recognizes a block from the Foundation Phase curriculum that effectively contributed to the education of second-year medical students.

The Joseph M. Craver, MD, ’67 Professor Awards were given to Ria Dancel, MD, professor in the Division of Hospital Medicine and Karen Kimel-Scott, MD, assistant professor in the Division of General Medicine and Clinical Epidemiology. The award acknowledges two faculty members for their outstanding teaching, and their ability to inspire and change the lives of their medical students.

Ria Dancel, MD
Karen Kimel-Scott, MD
Koyal Jain, MD

More details about the awards and ceremony can be found here.