Past Research Day Speakers

Biographical information on speakers from 1993, 1995-2000, 2001-2011

2011: Nancy Andrews, MD, PhD
Dean for Basic Sciences and Graduates Studies, Duke University School of Medicine
2010: Edward J. Benz, Jr., MD
President/CEO of Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
2009: Holden Thorp, PhD.
Chancellor, UNC-Chapel Hill
2008: Michael M.E. Johns, MD
Chancellor, Emory University. 1990-1996 Dean of the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine.
2007: William F. Crowley, MD
Director of Clinical Research - Massachusuetts General Hospital
2006: Barry R. Bloom, PhD
Dean of the Faculty, Harvard School of Public Health
2005: Michael E. Debakey, MD
Pioneer, innovator, miracle maker, Samaritani
2004: Julie L. Gerberding, MD MPH
Director of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
2003: Nancy F. Olivieri MD
Toronto General Research Institute (TGRI)
2002: Emanuel Petricoin III, PhD
Director of the Center for Applied Proteomics and Molecular Medicine
2000: Hamilton O. Smith, MD
1978 Nobel Laureate in Medicine
1999: James P. Kushner
Director of Huntsman General Clinical Research Center
1998: Robert J. Lefkowitz, MD
Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator
1997: Julius Axelrod, MD
1970 Nobel Laureate in Medicine
1996: James R. Gavin, MD PhD
President of Morehouse School of Medicine
1995: Joseph L. Goldstein, MD
1985 Nobel Laureate in Medicine
1993: J. Michael Bishop, MD
1989 Nobel Laureate in Medicine