Skip to main content

The UNC School of Medicine Student Government held the Fall Convocation and Awards Ceremony on August 16. The following faculty and residents from the Department of Medicine were recognized.


Christopher Klipstein, MD, professor of medicine and co-director of patient centered care, received the The Hyman L. Battle Distinguished Excellence in Teaching Award in the Clinical Sciences. This award was established in 1985 to recognize exceptional teaching in the clinical curriculum. Faculty members were nominated and the recipient was selected by the Class of 2024.
Raquel Reyes, MD, MPA, associate professor of medicine and director of the internal medicine clerkship, was honored with The Best Application Phase Course Award for the Hospital, Interventional and Surgical Care (HISC) course. This award was established to honor the clinical courses that most significantly contributed to the education of third-year medical students.


Chloe West, MD

Calvin Gross, MD, MTS, IM resident, and Chloe West, MD, IM intern, were selected for the Kaiser Permanente Excellence in Teaching Awards. The recipients contributed in an exemplary way to the education of medical students with their enthusiasm for teaching and promoting involvement of students on the medical team.