Skip to main content

UNC School of Medicine
Strategic Plan, Forward Together

The UNC School of Medicine aims to be the top public School of Medicine in the nation. Check out our strategic initiatives and priorities that will bring us towards that goal.

Our overarching aspiration is to be the nation’s leading public school of medicine. Keeping that goal in mind, this plan was created through a thorough, year-long strategic planning process. After much input from faculty, staff, students, and other members of the School of Medicine community, the plan was launched in 2019. Six major imperatives focus our efforts to reach our goal:

Strategic Imperatives

microscope icon


Research that is highly innovative and aimed towards making a difference in our patients’ lives

education icon


Education that prepares healthcare leaders of the future – in service to our state, nation and beyond

diversity icon

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

Diversity that reflects the populations we serve, embedded in a culture where all are included and can prosper

glasses icon


Faculty that can thrive and make a difference in their chosen career paths

North Carolina icon


Community service and impact at the state, national and global levels

administration icon


An administrative infrastructure and staff that is empowered to fulfill UNC’s mission


Forward Together Portfolio

Beginning in 2018, faculty, staff, learners and the Dean’s Office worked together to create the School of Medicine’s (SOM) 2019-2024 strategic plan, Forward Together. This portfolio outlines how the SOM will reach the desired vision of becoming the top public school of medicine in the nation.

Download Strategic Plan

Celebrating Staff Achievements

Our staff are key to accomplishing our goals across our six imperatives. To acknowledge staff excellence in each of these six areas, the Dean’s Performance Awards celebrate individual or group efforts each year that make significant contributions in each imperative area to help us reach our vision.

2020 Winners

2019 Winners