Skip to main content

The Department of Surgery is pleased to announce that Dr. Ian Kratzke, one of our general surgery residents, is the inaugural recipient of the Erle E. Peacock, Jr., MD Award. This annual award supports the education and career development of a resident or faculty member in the UNC Department of Surgery through a competitive process. The annual recipient is known as the Erle E. Peacock, Jr., MD Scholar and receives approximately $15,000 to support his or her educational efforts.

Dr. Kratzke will use his award to complete a Master of Health Professions Education (MHPE) Program at the University of Illinois.  He is the first UNC general surgery resident to pursue this type of degree. Dr. Kratzke will complete this Master’s degree during his 2 years of dedicated professional development time focusing on surgical education, resident well-being, surgical communication, and empathy.  He ultimately plans to pursue a career as a trauma/critical care surgeon with an academic focus on surgical education.

Please join me in congratulating Dr. Kratzke.