Skip to main content

Leslie Parise, professor and chair of biochemistry and biophysics, has been elected to a three-year term as chair of the faculty beginning on July 1, 2017.

Leslie Parise Ph.D. (photo credit Jon Gardiner)

Dr. Parise is completing a second term on the Faculty Executive Committee (FEC) and Faculty Council, where she pushed for improvements to the campus work-life environment and initiated discussions that led to creation of the Chancellor’s Science Scholars Program in the College of Arts and Sciences.

Leslie Parise, PhD, Professor and Chair of the Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics, has been elected to a three-year term as chair of the faculty at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill beginning on July 1, 2017.

As chair of the faculty, Professor Parise will serve as chair pro tempore of the Faculty Council and General Faculty, and she will represent the chancellor in all academic matters as requested by the chancellor.

Parise, who is also a professor of pharmacology and member of the UNC Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center and UNC McAllister Heart Institute, has served on the Faculty Executive Committee, Faculty Council and Financial Exigency and Program Change Committee. She has worked extensively across campus to improve the campus environment for work-life balance, to support the creation of the Chancellor’s Science Scholars Program and to strengthen undergraduate achievement in the sciences through the University’s Quality Enhancement Plan.

In her first year as chair of the faculty, Parise plans to focus on addressing budget challenges, strengthening faculty recruitment, improving policies that support work-life balance and diversity, and reducing unnecessary administrative burdens.

UNC School of Medicine’s Bruce Cairns, MD, the John Stackhouse Distinguished Professor of Surgery and Director of the NC Jaycee Burn Center, is finishing his term as faculty chair of UNC-Chapel Hill at the end of June.

If faculty wish to contact Dr. Parise regarding faculty governance-related matters, please email or call the Office of Faculty Governance at 919-962-2146.

To view elections results for other seats in the 2017 faculty elections, please click here.

Courtsey of Vital Signs and Mark Derewicz, Communications Manager of UNC Health Care.