Skip to main content

Time and time again, we have seen that the greatest accomplishments in life are often achieved not by the work of one but the work of many. A team approach provides for a richer, deeper experience for all involved and most often leads to better outcomes, training and discoveries. We have applied teamwork to our Department and from doing so are consistently ranked by U.S. News & World Report in the top 25 nationally. Our Department has a history of excellence, with countless advances, accomplishments, and achievements since we were first established in 2001. These accomplishments and accolades were possible through superbcare, groundbreaking research and enhanced opportunities for medical residents. Our skilled faculty, residents, and staff are committed to providing patients with the highest quality healthcare, advancing medical knowledge through state of the are research, and the highest quality medical training for residents.

Faculty Photo
Front row: Drs. Rupali Shah, Kevin Brown, Harold Pillsbury, Brent Senior, Carlton Zdanski, Lauren Kilpatrick, Wade McClain, Brian Thorp. Second Row: Drs. Madison Clark, Samip Patel, William Shockley, Amelia Drake. Third Row: Drs. Jiri Prazma, John Grose, Mark Weissler, and Charles Ebert.

We are committed to training the next generation of leaders in the field, with training opportunities for medical students, residents, fellows, graduate students and post-doctoral students. Our residency program is one of the most sought-after training programs in the South and has ranked in the top #25 nationally for the past several years by U.S. News & World Report.

Our Department is a research leader, with research programs in head and neck cancer, rhinology and sinus, auditory and laryngology. Our world-renowned Cochlear Implant Center at UNC consists of a diverse and dedicated group of scientists and physicians working on basic and clinical aspects of hearing in health and disease.

Not pictured: Drs. Jeffrey Blumberg, Robert Buckmire, Emily Buss, Christine DeMason, Margaret Dillon, Hannah Eskridge, Douglas Fitzpatrick, Trevor Hackman, Andrea Jarchow, Julia Kimbell, Brendan O’Connell, Brien Pace, Lisa Park, Meredith Rooth, Austin Rose, Pat Roush, and Holly Teagle.