Skip to main content

Research. Our History and Our Future.

We are proud of the department's long history of cutting edge investigation in all types of health science research. While our investigators continue to pursue substantial bench research, we have been expanding our focus in the areas of translational and clinical research.




View all News

  • Michael Kappelman, MD, MPH

    Researchers Announce Findings from Landmark Clinical Trial for Pediatric Crohn’s Disease

    Michael Kappelman, MD, MPH, was the lead PI on the clinical trial, which followed nearly 300 children with Crohn’s to evaluate how their conditions changed in response to anti-TNF biologic treatments alone or in combination with a second immune suppressive medication.

  • Edwin Kim, MD, MS

    Novel Peanut Allergy Treatment Shown to be Safe, Effective, and Lasting

    A four-year clinical trial led by Edwin Kim, MD, at the UNC School of Medicine, has found that an increased dosage of a unique type of peanut allergy immunotherapy continues to show promise for children.

  • Members of the UNC-Kinshasa School of Public Health Research Partnership

    Single Dose of Azithromycin Reduces Maternal Sepsis or Death

    A UAB-UNC School of Medicine collaboration found that a single oral dose of the common antibiotic azithromycin reduced the risk of maternal sepsis or death by 33 percent in women who delivered vaginally. UNC School of Medicine study leads were Melissa Bauserman, MD, MPH, Carl Bose, MD, and Jackie Patterson, MD, MPH.

  • Ian Davis, MD, PhD

    Ian Davis Awarded $1 Million by V Foundation

    The V Foundation Board of Directors and Scientific Advisory Board has awarded funding to Ian Davis, MD, PhD, the G. Denman Hammond Professor of Childhood Cancer in the Division of Hematology/Oncology and a UNC Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center member, for his research project, “Novel mechanisms to improve CAR-T cell therapy for pediatric solid tumors”. The award is being funded by the Dick Vitale Pediatric Cancer Research Fund. The award amount will total $1,000,000, over the next 5 years.