Skip to main content

Dr. Der named Sarah Graham Kenan Professor to honor his excellence in teaching and research at UNC.

Dr. Channing Der, newly appointed Sarah Graham Kenan Professor

Dr. Channing Der and the Department of Pharmacology have been awarded a Distinguished Sarah Graham Kenan Professorship.  Kenan Distinguished Professorships are awarded to honor excellence in teaching and research.  Our congratulations to Dr. Der!

Originally established in 1917 by Mary Lily Kenan Flagler, the Kenan Distinguished Professorships help the university to attract and retain high caliber faculty by providing distinguished professors with extra, endowed funding. The number of Kenan professorships were further expanded in 1965 by gifts from the Kenan Trust, established by a behest from William R. Kenan, Jr.  The large number of endowed Kenan Distinguished Professorships at Carolina has helped to promote and maintain the university’s high academic standing.