Advisory Board


The NC Medical Directors’ Network at the UNC Center for Excellence in Community Mental Health

 Donald Buckner, MD, Medical Director, Meridian Behavioral Health Services

Jennie Byrne, MD, PhD, CEO, Cognitive Psychiatry of Chapel Hill, PLLC, Deputy Chief Medical Officer, Community Care of North Carolina

Anthony Carraway, MD, Medical Director, The Sandhills Center (MCO)

John M. Diamond, MD,   East Carolina University AHEC Psychiatry Liaison, professor and head, Division of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, Brody School of Medicine at East Carolina University,

Robin B. Huffman, Executive Director, North Carolina Psychiatric Association

Burt P. Johnson, MD,Chief Medical Officer, Trillium (MCO)

A. Jackson “Jack” Naftel, MD, UNC Chapel Hill AHEC Liaison, professor and vice chair for Clinical Affairs and Child and Adolescent Services, Department of Psychiatry, UNC School of Medicine

Elizabeth M. “Beth” Peckarek, MD, Medical Director, Daymark Recovery Services

J. Octavio Salazar, MD, Chief Medical Officer, Partners Behavioral Health Management (MCO)

Marvin S. Swartz, MD, Duke AHEC Psychiatry Liaison, professor & head, Social & Community Psychiatry, executive vice-chair, Department of Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences, Duke Medical Center

UNC Center for Excellence in Community Mental Health

John H. Gilmore, MD, Thad and Alice Eure Distinguished Professor and vice chair for Research & Scientific Affairs, UNC Department of Psychiatry, director, Center for Excellence in Community Mental Health, UNC School of Medicine; NC,  director,Medical Director Network.

Alice Lockhart, BA, director of communications and manager  of the Medical Directors’ Network, UNC Center for Excellence in Community Mental Health