Skip to main content

Jane Hartung Receives Graduate Student Mentoring Award

January 13, 2014

  Congratulations to Jane Hartung for being awarded the Graduate Student Mentoring Award (GSMA) for her work with Olivia Eskew, an undergraduate in the Nackley Lab! This award recognizes the support, motivation and the perspective that Jane has brought to her mentee’s understanding of the researcher experience. Indeed, their collaboration has resulted in a second … Read more

Meghan Morgan-Smith to Defend PhD

January 8, 2014

Meghan Morgan-Smith will defend her PhD defense on January 31, 2014 at 3:00pm in the Bioinformatics Auditorium. Her talk is titled: “GSK-3 Regulation of Neuronal Migration and Morphogenesis in the Developing Cortex“ Advisor: William Snider

Stuber lab on Neuron Cover Article

December 4, 2013

Alice Stamatakis from Stuber lab publishes paper in Neuron demonstrating that lateral habenula projecting VTA neurons promote reward by their release of GABA, not dopamine. This paper was featured on the cover of the November 20th issue of Neuron.

Jason Cook Successfully Defended PhD on November 22nd

November 13, 2013

Jason Cook successfully delivered his PhD defense on November 22, 2013 at 12:00pm in the Bioinformatics Auditorium. His talk was titled “Ethanol Alters the GABAergic Neuroactive Steroid Allopregnanolone at Local Brain Sites: Significance of Local Allopregnanolone Increases in the Ventral Tegmental Area” Advisor: Dr. A. Leslie Morrow

Four UNC Neuroscience papers in Nature or Science in 2013

November 1, 2013

UNC researchers, including Neurobiology Curriculum students, have published FOUR papers in Nature or Science in 2013. That’s more than Duke, Princeton, Yale, UC Berkeley, UCLA, USC, UCSD,UCSF, U Michigan, or Northwestern. And SEVEN papers in Nature or Science since 2010!

Anel Jaramillo Receives AAHHE Award

October 30, 2013

Anel Jaramillo was awarded the American Association of Hispanics in Higher Education, Inc (AAHHE) graduate student fellows program (GRFP), which includes all travel expenses to their annual conference. Congrats Anel!