Skip to main content

2024 Carolina Quality and Safety Award

June 26, 2024

The Department of Neurology is please to announce that the Movement Disorders Outpatient Clinic received Honorable Mention at the 2024 Carolina Quality and Safety Award for “Addressing the Pillars of Palliative care: Advance care planning in movement disorders outpatient clinics”. This award program was developed to recognize quality improvement efforts across the UNC Hospitals and … Read more

Dr. Clio Rubinos awarded SIREN & Simmons Award

June 4, 2024

Dr. Clio Rubinos has been selected as a UNC School of Medicine Simmons Scholar and has been awarded the SIREN MAGNETIC Hub Junior Faculty Subaward from Duke Emergency Medicine. Both awards will support research career development for Dr. Rubinos. Since its launch in 1994, the Simmons Scholars Program has offered support to faculty members from … Read more

Melissa Massenburg wins Nurse of the Year!

May 16, 2024

The following article was written by Sonya Lester, BSN, RN, CCRN, Patient Services Manager III, Neurosurgical ICU. Melissa Massenburg, BSN, RN, CCRN, was selected by the UNC Medical Center nursing leadership as a UNCMC Nurse of the Year. She was nominated by nursing staff colleagues to honor her for exceptional service over the past year. The … Read more

2024 Carolina Care Excellence Awards!

April 1, 2024

Each year, UNC Hospitals & UNC Faculty Physicians celebrate the empathy and expertise of UNC Health physicians and advanced practice providers. Based on UNC Hospitals Press Ganey Medical Practice survey, 205 of UNC Health providers received the highest recommendations, which places them in the top quartile nationally. The honorees receive 2024 UNC Hospitals & UNC Faculty … Read more

Dr. Rebecca Traub Elected as Fellow of the American Academy of Neuology

February 20, 2024

Congratulations! Dr. Rebecca Traub has been elected as a Fellow of the American Academy of Neurology (FAAN). Fellow status recognizes outstanding work and accomplishments in neurosciences, clinical neurology, academic/administrative neurology, within the AAN, and the community. Traub specializes in neuromuscular diseases, as well as inflammatory and hereditary nerve and muscle conditions. She serves as the … Read more

UNC Neurology Division of Movement Disorders Awarded MSA Center of Excellence!

December 4, 2023

The MSA coalition is the largest non-profit foundation in the US supporting patients/families and researchers in multiple system atrophy, which is a relatively rare but devastating neurodegenerative disease. The Purpose of the MSA Center of Excellence program, which is new as of 2023 (2023 was the first year), is to provide access to the best … Read more

Dr. Miriam Sklerov Awarded James Wood Junior Faculty Award!

October 18, 2023

Congratulations to Dr. Miriam Sklerov for being awarded the James Wood Junior Faculty Award! Dr. Sklerov was nominated by Dr. Gwen Garden and a letter in support of this nomination was also submitted by Dr. Eran Dayan. She will be giving a speech during 2023 research week!  

Bob Greenwood Awarded Roger & Mary Brumback Lifetime Achievement Award

October 4, 2023

Dr. Bob Greenwood has been given the Roger and Mary Brumback Lifetime Achievment Award for all of his amazing work within the field of Child Neurology! The Roger & Mary Brumback Lifetime Achievement Awards are presented to CNS Members in recognition of a life-long commitment to child neurology, patient care, and humanism in medicine. Recipients … Read more