Skip to main content

Dohlman Lab Has Two Papers Highlighted in Science & Science Signaling

April 12, 2011

Dr. Henrik Dohlman Two papers by Henrik Dohlman’s lab have been highlighted in Science & Science Signaling. Henrik Dohlman is a joint professor in the Department of Pharmacology. The most recent one, “The Crystal Structure of a Self-Activating G Protein α Subunit Reveals Its Distinct Mechanism of Signal Initiation” with lead author Janice C. Jones, … Read more

Dr. Bryan Roth Honored with PhRMA Foundation 2011 Excellence in Pharmacology Award

March 24, 2011

Dr. Bryan Roth, the Michael J. Hooker Distinguished Professor in Pharmacology in the School of Medicine has received the PhRMA Foundation Award in Excellence in Pharmacology/Toxicology. PhRMA Awards in Excellence are given to scientists who have previously received a PhRMA award at the beginning of their careers when they are deciding on their area of … Read more

Collaborative Research Program in Pancreatic Cancer formed between Jasco Pharmaceuticals and Dr. Antonio Baines

March 14, 2011

Jasco Pharmaceuticals, LLC, has initiated a collaborative research program in pancreatic cancer with the laboratory of Antonio Baines, a professor at North Carolina Central University and an Adjunct Professor in the Department of Pharmacology at the University of North Carolina. The focus of the research is on developing therapeutics for pancreatic cancer that function through … Read more

UNC Researchers Awarded Prestigious Grant for Research in Autism Spectrum Disorders

February 18, 2011

Drs. Mark Zylka, Bryan Roth and Ben Philpot, recipients of Simons Award Drs. Ben Philpot, Mark Zylka, and Bryan Roth were awarded a prestigious grant from the Simons Foundation to identify drug-like compounds for the treatment of autism spectrum disorders. This includes work with an animal model of Angelman syndrome, a neurodevelopmental disorder caused by … Read more

John Allen and Tom Kash Win NARSAD Young Investigator Awards

February 4, 2011

Pictured above: Tom Kash. Below left: John Allen. Both are recipients of NARSAD Young Investigator Awards. Two members of the Pharmacology Department have won NARSAD: The Brain and Behavior Research Fund Young Investigator Awards. They are John A. Allen, Ph.D., a postdoctoral fellow with the Roth Lab, and Thomas L. Kash, Ph.D., Assistant Professor. The … Read more