Skip to main content

Frank Church, PhD, Kurt Gilliland, PhD, Edward Kernick, DPM, Marianne Meeker, PhD, Gwendolyn Sancar, PhD, Sarah Street, PhD, and Arrel Toews, PhD were selected as the first cohort of teaching champions.


Faculty members were selected for excellence in teaching the basic sciences to first and second year medical students. Each faculty member will receive salary support for their time in the classroom and with students. They will also have more opportunities for faculty development programs, to attend conferences related to education, and to continue their important work as master teachers. The teaching champions were nominated by their chairs and selected by a committee led by Dr. Warren Newton, Vice Dean for Education. Please join us in celebrating UNC’s teaching champions!

Gwendolyn Sancar, PhD
Biochemistry and Biophysics

Dr. Sancar’s research interests are in cellular responses to DNA damage, DNA repair, and elucidation of certain signal transduction pathways. She directs the first medical school course of the first year, Molecules to Cells and teaches scientific writing courses. In recent years, she has taught beginning and advanced graduate students, undergraduates, and allied health students.

Arrel Toews, PhD
Biochemistry and Biophysics

Dr. Toews, professor of Biochemistry and Biophysics, teaches Molecules to Cells, a first-year course. He is a member of many medical school committees related to the medical student experience and teaching. In recent years, Dr. Toews has won University and School of Medicine teaching awards, and delivered the Richard H. Whitehead Lecture.