Annual awards recognizing distinguished faculty in the SOM

Oliver Smithies Investigators

An annual award to honor senior faculty members who have made significant research contributions and achieved international recognition for their work. The award was established in honor of the research achievements of UNC Nobel Prize Winner Oliver Smithies, DPhil, the Weatherspoon Eminent Distinguished Professor in the Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine.


link to press release

Brian Strahl, PhD
Professor and Vice Chair of Biochemistry and Biophysics

Jen Jen Yeh, MD
Professor of Surgery, Division of Surgical Oncology


link to press release

Victor Garcia-Martinez, PhD
Professor of Medicine

Karen Mohlke, PhD
Professor of Genetics


Kim Boggess, MD
Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology

Fernando Pardo Manuel de Villena, PhD
Professor of Genetics

Yang Biomedical Scholars

The award, made possible through a donation from Lenovo chairman and CEO Yuanqing Yang, recognizes the research achievements of young tenured faculty.


link to press release

Louise Henderson, PhD, MSPH
Associate Professor Radiology

Jonathan Juliano, MD, MSPH
Associate Professor of Medicine

Ian Shih, PhD
Associate Professor of Neurology


link to press release

Edward Miao, MD, PhD
Associate Professor of Microbiology and Immunology

Garrett Stuber, PhD
Associatge Professor of Psychiatry, Cell Biology & Immunology


link to press release

Jonathan Berg, MD, PhD
Associate Professor of Genetics

Maureen, Su, MD
Associate Professor of Pediatrics

Yisong Wan, PhD
Associate Professor of Microbiology and Immunology