Skip to main content

It is with great honor we announce that four of our research and radiological sciences faculty have been selected on behalf of the Academy for Radiology & Biomedical Imaging Research as Academy Council of Distinguished Investigators (DI’s) Class of 2022. There were only 40 researchers selected to receive the Academy’s 2022 Distinguished Investigator Award, four of which were chosen from UNC Radiology. This prestigious honor recognizes individuals for their outstanding contributions to the field of medical imaging. This class will be welcomed as part of the broader Council which includes a network of nearly 500 imaging investigators. 

Congratulations to our Awardees:

Zibo Li headshot

Louise Henderson, PhD, MSPH

Professor of Radiology
Director Epidemiology Research

Zibo Li, PhD

Professor of Radiology
Director Cyclotron & Radiochemistry
Research Program (BRIC)

Gang Li, PhD

Associate Professor of Radiology

Pew-Thian Yap, PhD

Associate Professor of Radiology
Director Radiological Sciences
Faculty Development


For the first time, this year’s cohort of Distinguished Investigators will include researchers from both Academy member imaging societies as well as partners in industry. “Collectively, the research conducted by these Distinguished Investigators has advanced medical imaging knowledge in immeasurable ways,” stated Renee L. Cruea, the Academy’s Executive Director. “Expanding this council’s reach by including these significant contributors to medical imaging research, alongside their colleagues from the academic space, highlights and recognizes the broad influence and reach of imaging research overall.” 

“These Distinguished Investigators represent the future of imaging, advancing the field overall as well as developing ways to significantly improve patient care through their research efforts.” said Elizabeth A. Krupinski, PhD, Council of Distinguished Investigators Co-Chair.