Skip to main content

About Us

The Department of Radiology at the University of North Carolina School of Medicine was established in the fall of 1952 concomitant with the opening of the four-year School of Medicine in Chapel Hill. There have been six Chairs (including one Interim) in our Department since its inception.

Native North Carolinian and renowned neuroradiologist from Columbia Presbyterian Hospital in New York City Dr. Ernest Wood became the inaugural chair of the department in 1952. He and Dr. Charles Bream were the first full-time radiologists at the University of North Carolina. Their early research focused on magnification radiology. Starting with 6,000 square feet in the University Hospital, Dr. Wood expanded the Department’s general radiology care, initiated a Nuclear Medicine program, and launched one of the state’s first Screening Mammography programs. Clinical research was initiated to assess the utility of magnification radiography, thermography, and radionuclide scintigraphy. In 1965, Dr. Wood left to accept the directorship of the Radiology Department at the Neurological Institute of New York.

Dr. James Scatliff, a neuroradiologist from Yale became the Chair after Dr. Wood’s departure. Dr. Scatliff oversaw the expansion of clinical services in diagnostic Radiology, including the addition of new technologies such as Ultrasound, Computed Tomography, and Magnetic Resonance Imaging. In 1987, Radiation Oncology became a separate department. Clinical volumes were increased significantly, and the total number of faculty grew from 5 in 1966 to 25 in 1991, with a gradual reduction in dependency on state appropriations. The fourth-year medical student Radiology electives were established, and an animal X-Ray laboratory with fluoroscopy and a film changer was established to facilitate more basic animal studies. A beloved UNC School of Medicine leader and educator for over 50 years, Dr. Scatliff passed in March 2017.

Dr. Scatliff remained the Chair until 1991 when Dr. Joseph K.T. Lee was recruited from Mallinckrodt Institute of Radiology at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis. Dr. Lee was a Mallinckrodt-trained GI/GU Radiologist. Relocating his family from St. Louis, MO, Dr. Joseph K.T. Lee became the third Chair of UNC Radiology. Dr. Lee reorganized the clinical enterprise into eight discrete divisions. Under his direction, new equipment was acquired and space was renovated to accommodate expanding clinical programs. He oversaw the establishment of fellowship programs in Abdominal Imaging, Breast Imaging, Neuroradiology, Nuclear Medicine, and Vascular/Interventional Radiology, as well as the creation of a Division of Research. Our Abdominal Imaging section continues to benefit from Dr. Lee’s vast clinical experience and expertise.

Dr. Matthew Mauro, who served as vice-chair under Dr. Lee, was elevated to chair in 2007. A graduate of Cornell University in New York, Dr. Mauro has a long history with UNC Radiology and UNC Health. He completed both his residency and a fellowship in Diagnostic Radiology and Vascular Surgery here. In addition, Dr. Mauro did a Vascular/Interventional and Abdominal fellowship at the Mallinckrodt Institute. During his tenure as Chair of UNC Radiology, Dr. Mauro has increased the funding of our residency program to allow for additional headcount. In conjunction with our mission statement, he has revamped the Department’s organizational structure to place greater emphasis on basic research. He is working collegially with other Departments on integrated technology programs to improve both the quality of our training programs and multi-disciplinary patient satisfaction.

Dr. Maureen P. Kohi, a nationally renowned Vascular-Interventional Radiology (VIR) leader and women’s health advocate was recruited as the 6th and current Chair of the department. Her many career honors include: Women of UCSF Health Spotlight Award; Fellow of the American Heart Association (FAHA); Fellow of the Society of Interventional Radiology (FSIR); Distinguished Reviewer – JVIR; NIH-T32 Research Fellow; Associate Editor – Journal of Vascular and Interventional Radiology, Chair – Women in Interventional Radiology Governing Council; and Member –  Vascular Interventional Advances Physician Board. Over her eight years at the University of California – San Francisco, Dr. Kohi served in a range of leadership capacities, among them: Division Chief of Vascular and Interventional Radiology; Co-Director – Focused Ultrasound; Associate Program Director – VIR residency and fellowship programs; and Site Director – UCSF Mission Bay Hospital.