Skip to main content

Monica Nanda Stuart Grant
Monika Nanda, Fellowship Director Regional Anesthesia and Acute Pain Stuart Grant, Chief, Division of Regional Anesthesiology

Prospective Fellowship Candidates,
Welcome to UNC Regional Anesthesia and Acute Pain Medicine. At UNC we believe it is our responsibility to train fellows who will move the specialty forward, and we make this our priority.

A Regional Anesthesiology and Acute Pain Fellowship at UNC offers a unique world-class enriching experience that includes:

  • 3000 blocks per year in a tertiary academic setting, with inpatient and ambulatory experience.
  • Integration of regional anesthesia and point of care ultrasound to care for the most complex patients.
  • ERAS pathways with regional anesthesia at their core.
  • At the completion of fellowship competence in every possible nerve block approach.
  • A faculty pool of nationally and internationally recognized researchers, speakers, book authors, and fellowship-trained experts.
  • OSCE and Oral Board training for fellows.
  • State-of-the-art equipment and support team.
  • Time and support provided for research and quality improvement.
  • Opportunities for global health engagement.
  • Learn how to become an effective educator as you graduate to the role of an independent practitioner.
  • Paid membership of the American Society of Regional Anesthesia and attendance at the ASRA spring meeting.
  • Department initiatives for diversity, inclusion and wellness.

We offer three full-time fellowship positions with a comprehensive experience in regional anesthesiology and acute pain. We are seeking ACGME accreditation with anticipated transition to accredited fellowship starting July 2021.


“What I love about UNC” – Video
What makes UNC unique?

UNC Regional Anesthesiology In The News

  • “Grant Named Director of ASRA Ultrasound-Guided Regional Anesthesia Education Portfolio Cadaver Course”
  • “UNC Regional Making a Mark With New Blocks. Best of Abstract Award at Society of Cardiac Anesthesiologists Meeting 2019. The innovative use of Erector Spinae Plane Blocks in Cardiac Surgery Patients Improved Time to Extubation and Reduced Length of Stay.”
  • “Hardman serving on planning committee for ASRA Spring Meeting”
  • “UNC Regional Anesthesiology leading the way again. Teamwork makes the dreamwork. Together with Duke Regional Anesthesiology the UNC team are staging a free workshop for residents in Feb 2020.”
  • “Nanda applies for ACGME accreditation for the Regional Anesthesia and Acute Pain Fellowship”