The University of North Carolina performs approximately 1694 cardiac and thoracic surgeries each year. These cases usually require anesthesiologists who have additional training in this field. The members of the cardiothoracic team are dedicated to quality patient care, which includes not only supportive training of medical students and residents, but also continuing to further their own education as new advances in the field arise. Many of our residents have gone on to do a cardiothoracic anesthesia fellowship as a result of the excitement and encouragement they received from this team.

The members of the cardiothoracic anesthesia team include:

Brian Barrick, DDS, MD, Professor of Anesthesiology, Director of Thoracic Anesthesiology
Mark Henry, MD, Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology
Lavinia Kolarczyk, MD, Associate Professor of Anesthesiology
Priya Kumar, MD, Professor of Anesthesiology, Director of Clinical Research, Member Outcomes Research Consortium
Robert Kyle, DO, Professor of Anesthesiology
Susan Martinelli, MD, Associate Professor of Anesthesiology
Bryant Murphy, MD, Neuroanesthesiology Division Chief, Vice Chair of Clinical Operations and Professor of Anesthesiology
Alan Smeltz, MD, Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology
Emily Teeter, MD, F.A.S.E. Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology, Director of Resident TEE Elective Rotation, Resident Cardiac Curriculum Director, Chair of Residency Recruitment, Assistant Program Director of Residency
Additional Team Members:
Meena Bhatia, MD, Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology, Division Chief of Critical Care Medicine
Harendra Arora, MD, FASA, MBA, Professor of Anesthesiology, Residency Program Director